7 Quick Takes

4 May

ONE
I’m writing this list from the safety of my family’s home. I’ve been busy hiding from the world and soaking up the love for the last week. Long story short, the straw that sent me over the edge into raging lunacy broke the camel’s back happened when my hotel room was broken into and every bit of cash, coin, and plastic I possessed was stolen. My parents, God bless them, were able to bid their life away on Priceline’s Name Your Own Price, and my blessed assurance was on a flight back to DFW almost immediately.

TWO
THIS disaster has sickened me this week. Please, please, please pray for this man, and may God have mercy on the people — our glorious national leaders included — who are responsible for this man’s blood should anything happen.

THREE
This past Sunday, one of my darling god brothers (son of my lovely godmother Kimberlie)received First Communion. I wasn’t able to be there, but I’m so proud of the sweet boy!

FOUR
Speaking of sweet boys I’m proud of….
Logan just published his first novel, The Intruders. Yes, novel. Because graduating high school just isn’t enough for him to accomplish this spring.
Overachiever.
Head on over to his blog, and check out the book!

FIVE
This post by Calah Alexander at Barefoot and Pregnant completely moved me today — as did the Mark Shea post that inspired it.

SIX
Somewhere in the last few months of chaos in my life, my domain name expired. I went to re-register it today and it was bought by some off spam-sounding private investigation holder site. So bizarre. And now I’m sad.

SEVEN
Thanks to Jen at Conversion Diary for hosting! I’m happy to be getting somewhat back in the game.

5 Responses to “7 Quick Takes”

  1. Amy E May 4, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Welcome back! I happened to see you on Conversion Diary today…I used to follow (lurk) on your blog and wondered how your move turned out. We joined the Church on the same day and I was going thru RCIA at the same time you were, it was nice to read your perspective. Glad to see you writing again, you were missed!

  2. Lisa Taylor May 4, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Rachel neglected to tell me about #1! the hotel had no cameras pointed at your hallway? great googly moogly! i don’t know about you, but i’m ready to give up my corner on the crises market.

  3. Warm Southern Breeze May 4, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Oh my! Kassie, it seems as if you’ve been thrown under the bus! Fortunately, it wasn’t it wasn’t running at the time. These things – these events, while negative, serve a purpose. There is a message in it. It took me a while to be able to begin to understand that concept.

    On another front, I was kinda’ dumbfounded that a close friend of mine had sent what I thought was private communication to someone else – some kind of Protestant fundy Republican type… you know the type, the “I and my ministry” kind – and I received a message from him which also included the whole string of messages to & from blah, blah, blah… you know how it goes.

    It wasn’t so much that I felt as if my friend violated our confidence and our friendship, but that the guy to whom he sent the message is a “nice” anti-Catholic. Again, you know the type – the “I disagree with what Catholics teach” but they really know nothing about what they do teach type.

    Here’s the excerpted conclusion: “…leave him with these words..he can go ask his priest what they mean if he doesn’t know…sola scriptura..sola fides..blessings.”

    Yes, I know what they mean, and I also know their implications, yet I also know “Homo unius libri” and “hominem unius libri timeo.”

    As I explained and analogized to my friend, “it’s a bit like asking a Buddhist what he thinks about Baptist teaching and doctrine. Why would one do that?”

    Here’s an interesting bit however, my friend is Protestant – as I once was – and he figured in my spiritual growth, development and transformation.

    But on the sola scriptura thing… it seems to me that some folks – for one reason, or another – don’t do the 2 Timothy 2:15 thing, which is to “Work hard so you can present yourself to God and receive his approval. Be a good worker, one who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly explains the word of truth.”

    When one can use sola scriptura to demonstrate why it’s an erroneous doctrine… well, that’s for another post.

    I’m glad to read that you’re home safe, with family and other loved ones.

  4. Thomas May 4, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Glad to see you back online.

  5. Cléo May 9, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Jeej! I’ve been waiting for you and this blog to get back! What Amy writes is often true, these chaotic times might be fruitfull in some way, some time. But you know that. (Prayers of peace coming you way from rainy Belgium.) Congratulations on the closure of your neophyteyear at Easter! My husband and I will also celebrate our Home-1-year at Pentecoast. I’m still curious as to how your lovely family is processing the whole ‘catholic thing’. (Ours aren’t doing too well, yet)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

