7 Quick Takes Vol. 2

24 Sep

7 Quick Takes

Thank you Jennifer at ConversionDiary.com for hosting!

1. The courtship post is coming.
I promise. I don’t know if I can adequately portray the amount of angst this topic brings to me, and I’m trying to be fair and not have it turn into a diatribe like this. (I laughed, I confess). It’s interesting to see how bizarre the courtship model seems to non-Fundamentalists – I mean, it makes sense why, but it’s just interesting to see how readily my family accepted some of this idealogy for a time. Thank God for parents who are willing to step outside the homeschool trends when need-be.

2. I got my hair cut and didn’t die.
Don’t judge me for the amount of anxiety haircuts cause me. I have ridiculously curly hair, and I was the victim of a particularly horrendous haircut at the hands of my mother’s best friend when I was 16. I cried. For a length of time I’m too ashamed to admit to on the internet. Fast forward several years to now, with me stranded in Tulsa with no trip to Dallas in the forseeable future to the one woman in the world I’ve found whom I trust with my hair, and you have a spastic Kassie. After much anguish I chose one salon, and after making VERY CERTAIN the receptionist knew I was a paranoid curly headed spazzoid, she told me Claudia would be my best bet. Claudia indeed was. AND, she has been thinking about Catholicism lately. So I got a great hair cut, and got to answer some questions an inquirer had about the Church. Awesome? I think so. That’s my justification for it, anyway.

3. I don’t totally suck at pool.
Yes, I gasp go out with friends on occasion. I was in an establishment that may or may not have allowed smoking. I was even wearing pants. But I figured in an activity like pool that requires much bending and, if you’re vertically challenged like me, Cirque de Soleil style contortionist acts to have any chance at winning, skirts are better off left at home. Apparently even wearing pants I still reeked of Prairie Muffin, because parting words from a group of intoxicated young men stumbling away from me, saddened at their rejection, were “I hope you find a good husband soon”. Sidenote: I also kicked arse at the establishment wide trivia game. Homeschool grads FTW.

4. I have been living off of Nordstrom’s Tomato Basil Soup and Cheese Quesadillas.
Go
here. Cook. Thank me later.

5. I love being a nanny.
I didn’t realize how much until I got this week off and realized. . .hey, I miss those kids. Even the one intentionally urinates on me when I don’t open the front door fast enough. “Hurry up. . .or. . .or I’m going to PEE ON YOU!!” – What Jesus Never Told Mary.

6. Eli comes back to town in TEN FREAKING DAYS!!!
There is much rejoicing. I am tired of long distance.

7. According to the numerology obsessed lady in my home church, 7 is the Lord’s Number.
So I’m not going to desecrate it with anything else in my life. 😉

 

4 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Vol. 2”

  1. Jordana September 24, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Being a straight-haired girl, I’ve always longed for curly hair, but I am glad that my hair seems to be easy to cut and manage. It may never look wonderful, but it is not usually terrible either.

    I’m looking forward to the courtship post.

  2. Charli September 25, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    No. 2 does seem like one of those happenings with ‘God’s fingerprints on it’, so to speak!

  3. priest's wife September 25, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Hi there! Liking your blog- about hair….if it is really curly, maybe shopping in the ‘black’ section of the hair care aisle would help?

    A personal question- are you considering transferring out of Oral Roberts?

    • secretvaticanspy September 25, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

      I only have a few semesters left, so I’m going to go ahead and finish undergrad at ORU.

Leave a Reply

