My Momma’s So. . .

1 Oct

Seeing Aeren sitting on the edge of a bed brushing her hair and learning to drink from a cup when four days ago she didn’t do any of these things, and Trent, longing to have a foot so he can wear both of his new shoes, knowing what their futures most likely would have been like, is so much more important in the scheme of things than a new car, bigger house, each child having their own bedroom, retirement or college funds, or any material thing that will not last beyond the grave. . .We’re investing in the future of children who are going to have not only a new foot and outlook on life, but a future and a hope. When we saw the faces of each of our children before we adopted them, it wasn’t a matter of “Can we afford to adopt this child?” it was “We can’t afford NOT to adopt them.” THIS is what life is all about.
Kimberly Rutherford

My momma’s so AWESOME that she’s mothered 9, homeschooled 7, adopted 4 babies from China, helped plant a church with my daddy, been a wonderful wife, and supported me through moving away from my family, starting a journey of faith that led me to Catholicism, and helped me through a broken engagement, frustrations with life and love and everything in between. She’s a fellow Dr. Who fanatic, and stays up into the very wee hours of the morning watching BBC miniseries, Royal Pains, and forensics shows with me when I visit home.

You should visit her blog, 22 Chopsticks. Tell her that Catholic heathen she raised sent you.

2 Responses to “My Momma’s So. . .”

  1. Peter Rhodes October 2, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Royal pains!!

  2. Megan October 4, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    She sounds like an amazing lady! Do you watch White Collar or Covert Affairs? I love those shows! 🙂 Also, thanks for adding me to your blog roll!

Leave a Reply

