7 Quick Takes Vol. 4

15 Oct
  1. Lucy, I’m home!
    I took a 2-week vacay from blogging and, for the most part, twitter and Facebook. My employer family’s lives hit the top of the Uber Chaotic scale, which means my life hit it right along with them. That and I’ve been adjusting (quite wonderfully!) to Eli being home for GOOD. But, I’ve got a lot planned for the blog that I’m really excited about (and hinted at in my last 7 Quick Takes). So, welcome back gang, thanks for sticking around!
  2. It’s a wonderful life.
    I committed the sin of gluttony on breadsticks and pesto at lunch today, went out to Starbucks with Eli after, and am lazing around at my place while Eli’s at work – then we’re going to Borders and the mall and eating dinner at his place this evening. I like not being long distance.
  3. Sufjan Stevens in 5 days!
    Eli bought us tickets to see Sufjan in Dallas on Wednesday – I’m beyond excited. I have to go thrifting for an appropriately hipster outfit today or tomorrow.
  4. My priest reads The Atlantic and Douglas Adams.
    I love being Catholic. Truly, I do.
  5. I get to see my family next week!
    I’m visiting home next week to see my awesome family and to introduce Eli to the crazy-but-beautiful chaos that is the Rutherford homestead. Read: Pray for us.
  6. Word is out.
    My family’s church has found out that I’m converting. Which means #5 could be interesting. Read: Pray for me some more, please.
  7. Shhhhh. . .
    I can’t tell you what number 7 is but since I write this stream-of-consciousness and it’s what came to me, I have to put it down anyway. It’s a surprise. And it’s a good surprise. And it’s consuming a lot of my thoughts right now. You’ll find out soon enough. Worry not.

    Visit ConversionDiary.com for more 7 Quick Takes – and maybe add your own!

11 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Vol. 4”

  1. Calah October 15, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Oooh, #6. Been there. Not fun. Only advice I have for you is stand strong. I did lots of apologizing and half-explaining and generally misrepresent the Church quite a bit in my quest to keep the peace and avoid confrontation, and I felt really guilty about it for a long time. It’s awkward and difficult and since it’s your family, it’s excruciating, but stay strong. I’ll pray for you, a lot. Good luck.

  2. Calah October 15, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Sorry for the double comment, but welcome back! I’ve been wondering where you were.

  3. Maria D. @ Downright Domesticity October 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Hi! I found you through Conversion Diary, started reading some of your older posts… and, um, this is kinda weird, but I think my husband knows your boyfriend! We both went to a certain nondenominational university in Tulsa, and I’m pretty sure my hubby took a couple theology classes with Eli. Small world, eh?

    Anyways, you have a fascinating blog. I’ve been looking into Catholicism as well, but keeping it on the downlow since both sides of the family are VERY Protestant, lol.

    • The Secret Vatican Spy October 28, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

      Hahahaha. . .WOW. That is so crazy. Small world!! Eli remembers you guys. Sorry it took so long to reply! I am still chuckling at the whole degrees-of-separation thing.

  4. Mike October 15, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Hey, I’ve been commenting a bit on Eli’s blogs so I thought I’d pop over here as well.

    I have Seven Swans in front of me right now. Its an amazing album. The Transfiguration is one of the highlights for me, along with Seven Swans and Abraham. Of course I’ve got to mention For the Widows in Paradise off the album Michigan as well. I think he toured around where I am but I missed it. I was hoping to go to a mewithoutYou concert a couple months ago but it got cancelled unfortunately just about a week before the show.

    Good to hear you guys are doing well, i’ll keep you in my prayers.

  5. Megan October 16, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I’m so excited to hear about the surprise! However, let me back up enough to say that I LOVE pesto! 🙂 Yum!
    I will pray for you as you go visit your family! I pray that someday you will bring all of them with you home to Rome! 🙂

  6. priest's wife October 16, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    glad that you are back blogging- lots of prayers for the family visit!

  7. Louise October 17, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    Just found your blog through Priest’s Wife! Welcome to the church– 🙂

  8. metamorph14 October 19, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    That “Crazy, beautiful chaos that is the Rutherford homestead” sounds like fun. Although, I’ve heard that the beautiful part of crazy, beautiful Rutherford homestead all comes from this 15-year-old boy that lives there. Rumor has it, he’s hoooooot!

  9. priest's wife October 27, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    tap, tap, tap…..impatiently waiting for a new post….. 🙂

  10. priest's wife October 27, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    I forgot to add- you might be interested in this post- I know you have Chinese siblings

    http://remnantofremnant.blogspot.com/2010/10/im-dreaming-of-made-in-china-lights.html

Leave a Reply

