7 Quick Takes Vol. 6

4 Nov

This week? The Bomb.

I promise that this 7QT will be an election-free zone. I’m still assimilating everything so I can’t say that will hold true for my blog at large, but for right now? Mum’s the word.

Visit Jennifer Fulwiler at ConversionDiary.com for more 7 Quick Takes!

1. Pray for my friend.
My friend Roxanne had surgery Thursday morning – I know a lot of you have been praying for her, but please continue to lift her and her family up in prayer.

2. I ripped my thumb nail off.
Okay. That was hyperbole (I love that word). Hyperbolehyperbolehyperbole. I did, however, rip it backwards and bruise my nail bed in a freak OMG-you’re-late-for-school-throw-backpacks-in-the-car accident. I did not realize how much I use my thumbs until that happened.

3. I’m going to be an aunt!
My oldest brother and his wife are expecting their first child, a baby girl! I’m ridiculously excited, and placing my bid for Favored Aunt. She’ll have six to choose from, but I’m the oldest and the only one with a steady job. So THERE. 😛

4. Rite of Acceptance is next Saturday.
I’m excited. Easter seems so far away, and I’m not entirely sure I can wait much longer. The Liturgy of the Eucharist gets harder and harder to sit through, and I feel desperate for Christ. I’ve been going to Adoration, and it only fuels my desire for Him – which I suppose is the point, no? At least after the Rite of Acceptance if I die in a freak acorn throwing tournament at the hands of a herd of rabid squirrels I can have a Catholic funeral.

5. Can squirrels get rabies?

6. Nanowrimo. Nanowrinot.
It is Day FOUR of Nanowrimo and I still have less than a page written. On the upside, having something else pressing to do means that my blog is a means of procrastination. Meaning, I’m getting way more blogging done than I did when the blog was my primary means of expression. Weird how that works. But I am still set on completing Nanowrimo this year. No, really.

7. I deleted my Facebook!
And I’m not looking back!

8 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Vol. 6”

  1. Elizabeh November 5, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    Hi! This is my first time visiting your blog; I love your voice!

    If I had done #7, I would have to dedicate at least one entire post just to memorialize it. That would also help satisfy my social media hunger. I admire you for that, I’m truly addicted.

  2. The Secret Vatican Spy November 5, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    Thank you for visiting, Elizabeth! I think the same about yours – I don’t know how I’ve missed your blog on the 7QT meme, I’m usually good about visiting most of the blogs on the list!

    I’m waiting until the aftermath of my departure dies down before I write about it – the responses I’m getting from friends and acquaintances over me leaving have been, um, interesting, to say the least! lol. That’s where the real fascinating stuff is!

  3. Kimberlie November 5, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    You are hysterical! Love you to pieces, seriously. 🙂

  4. Ciska November 5, 2010 at 5:39 am #

    My Rite of Acceptance is in three weeks. Easter is so far away … I really can’t wait to be able to receive the Eucharist. One of the people who guides me through the process jokingly told me there’s probably no one looking forward to Easter more than I am. She mustn’t know any other catuchemen. 😉

  5. Kathleen November 5, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    My NaNo is going very slowly, too–much more than it has any right to do. And I’ve been searching for procrastination tools, too. Which is stupid, because I really am looking forward to writing the book; I just can’t seem to get in the groove!

  6. Kathleen November 5, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    BTW…echoes to Kimberlie. You *are* hysterical. 🙂 The squirrels are priceless. I can’t wait to hear you talk about the journey through the Rites. Easter Vigil is my favorite liturgy of the whole year. Although I don’t get to go very often anymore. 😦

  7. Tara November 5, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Your offhand Twitter comment was what first got me thinking about deleting my Facebook account, in a startled “What? You can DO that? Awesome!” kind of way. My usage was totally immoderate and getting in the way of real socialization. And I didn’t even use any of the applications or games!

    But yes, several people’s reactions were…codependantly addicted/aggressive in nature. Ah, well. I feel so much better without the Facebook account. It was not for me.

  8. priest's wife November 5, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Congratulations on making the next step!!!!

    and OUCH to the thumb nail- OUCH! You gave me goosebumps just reading it

Leave a Reply

