7 Quick Takes vol. 7

19 Nov

1. I’m a big kid now!

My blog is now http://secretvaticanspy.com. I’m having geeky fits of glee over the fact that I own a domain. Don’t judge me – I’ve wanted one since I was ten years old. No, really. I was always a nerd.

2. Join the resistance!

Earlier this week I mentioned Project Vatican Hit List. I was going to upload the preliminary list tonight, but quite frankly, I left the grease-stained notebook in my car and it is in the thirties. I am nice and comfortable in my warm cozy bed, and do not feel the slightest bit compelled to run and retrieve said list. I have a few books that are calling my name, and they shall get the attention they so desperately crave as soon as I upload this post.

All that to say, we would love to have you join us. Several of you mentioned not being able to commit to daily mass, because you have to do trivial and carnal things like, oh, I don’t know – RUN HOUSEHOLDS AND RAISE BABIES. Pssh. I jest. There will be alternatives, and tomorrow when the sun is shining and I am no longer tired, grumpy, and literature deprived I will throw a few suggestions out to y’all.

3. Best song ever.

Skip ahead to 1:11 if you want to skip the introduction. It’s cute, guys. The rosary line is my favorite.

4. Speaking of rosaries. . .

I’ve been making rosaries for the Vatican Hitlist. I’m getting pretty good at them, which is surprising because I’m, um, how you say, completely uncrafty in almost every possible way. I’ll add pictures later.

5. I was wrong!

The Rite of Acceptance is THIS Saturday, which is all sorts of goose-bump inducing – it is exactly one year TO THE DAY that I decided to give this whole Catholic thing a go, and asked my soon-to-be-godmother if I could accompany her family to Mass the next day (Christ the King Sunday). I can’t believe it’s already/only been a year.

6. My boyfriend is awesome.

Eli has been writing like a mad-man over at Practical Catholic. I mean that in the amount written and time spent doing so sense, not the gee-I’m-dating-a-wild-man way. You should stop by and say hi. He’s far more articulate than I am.

7. It’s Thanksgiving season!!

I can already taste my momma’s absolutely sinful Thanksgiving dinner. I wish I had a TARDIS so I could revisit Thanksgiving day every single day of the year.

Visit Jen at Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes!

 

8 Responses to “7 Quick Takes vol. 7”

  1. Elizabeth November 19, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    Congratulations!! A whole year! That was a really brave step to take and it is really exciting to know you’re only five months away from fully-fledged 00VII status (there are no Roman numerals for zero…)!

  2. Calah November 19, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    Oh my gosh. I wish I had a TARDIS too. I was just watching the Shakespeare episode the other night and I thought of you and wondered if you laughed as hard as I did when the Doctors says, “47 academics just punched the air.” Best.line.ever.

    In other less geeky news, congratulations about the Rite of Acceptance! It’s awesome. And weirdly enough, I just made my first rosary decade. I’m doing them for Christmas gifts. I can’t wait to see pictures of yours; mine is totally wonky and looks like a five year old did it.

    • The Secret Vatican Spy November 20, 2010 at 2:49 am #

      The Shakespeare episode is one of my all-time favorites!! Definitely my favorite Martha/Doctor episode.

      I HOPE to have pictures tomorrow. I finished one today that I really love, but I’m kind of scared to look through my old ones from earlier this summer. They are. . .a little frightening. Are you doing strung bead rosaries or the wire wrapped ones?

  3. Kimberlie November 19, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    Kassie,
    I am all “goose-bumps” too! I can’t wait until Saturday night. I know I’m going to cry. Wear waterproof mascara. That’s my plan. Love you!

  4. Megan November 19, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    You always crack me up! 🙂 Congrats on your own domain!
    I haven’t watched the video yet, but I will! In high school, our youth group came up with a list of the top 10 Catholic pick up lines. They put them on the back of a t shirt. 🙂
    My DH claims that he came up with what he has decided is the best one! Arriving at Mass early and saying, “Is this where the angels sit?”
    haha, and you thought you were the only nerd around. 😉

  5. spilisz08 November 19, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    If they had made that movie “groundhog day” into “thanksgiving day” and he lived that over and over again, it would have been awesome. Unless you hate your family. But it sounds like you don’t. 😛

    Anyway, I hope you have a great holiday and enjoy every sinful bite. 🙂

Leave a Reply

