7 Quick Takes Vol. 8 – Link Love Edition

3 Dec

A Priest’s Wife did something similar for 7QT two weeks ago, and I thought it was a fantastic idea. I’ve been a horrible blog follower the last few weeks. I apologize for the sheer creeptacular amount of lurking I’ve been doing. But, I want to share with my readers some of the blogs I’ve stumbled upon over the last few months.

ALSO – my mom and sister are in California competing in the Eukanuba dog show! You know, the giant one that airs on the Animal Planet in January. They have worked super hard to get there, and I am SO PROUD of them – even dogs irritate me. Their dogs are adorable (even I, the family’s sole cat lover thinks so). Go check them out.

1. Barefoot and Pregnant

Have you ever read a blog that made you go OMG-who-is-this-person-and-why-do-they-continually-read-my-mind?

Yeah. That’s this one. Calah is the sole blogger who has managed to make me laugh and cry in a span of two or three posts, and sometimes at the same time. Please, run – don’t walk – to her blog.

2. Fear Not Little Flock

As I’m sure everyone is more than aware by now, my dad was a full-time pastor growing up – and full-time fifty other things at the same time. Dad’s 24 hours run pretty much like Jack Bauer’s, just without the torture and terrorism. I thought that some of these struggles were unique to Protestant families, but little did I know about the Eastern Catholic priesthood! This blog, by a precious anonymous woman, details life in a Byzantine Catholic’s priest’s family. One of the most interesting blogs I’ve ever had the privilege to stumble upon.

3. My Thoughts Along The Way

My wonderful, beautiful, awesome godmother/sponsor’s blog. She and her husband have an amazing heart for adoption and our faith, and they have been a source of support during my conversion that I genuinely COULD NOT have made it without. Her writings are beautiful, fearless, and strong.

4. Political Housewyf

Intelligent commentary on current events, housewyf musings, and adorable children – pretty much the best of all possible worlds. Her articles on Snowflake Babies are favorites of mine. I wish I was rational enough to write about serious issues the way that she does, but I get far too emotional and in the end it just turns into SDGKFHBERG %*$&*$&%@@@ SOAPBOX SOAPBOX SOAPBOX. So, read her blog instead.

5. Modestia

I just found Modestia – as in, an hour ago, and I already LOVE the blog. Fabulous Catholic fashion? What’s not to love?

6. Fumbling Toward Grace

She and her husband are expecting a child in a matter of weeks! Prayers for them and their new baby, please. She somehow manages to continue to write awesome posts. Having never been pregnant I can’t personally attest to the magnitude of AWESOME that entails, but I can make a pretty good guess.

7. Practical Catholic

Did you really think you were going to make it through an entire Quick Takes with NO mention of Eli?? Really?? πŸ˜‰ He is handsome, intelligent, funny, theological, orthodox Catholic, conservative, pope-loving, catechism spouting. . .and taken. But read his blog anyway.

Visit ConversionDiary.com for more!

 

5 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Vol. 8 – Link Love Edition”

  1. Calah December 4, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    Thanks Kassie! I really like the linky love idea, I think I may do one of my own this week. Just so we’re on the same page (when are we not?), your posts creepily echo my own random thought processes some time. Especially the Fundacatholic one! My favorite. That, plus the glasses, and Dr. Who…well, we just have to be friends for life.

  2. priest's wife December 5, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Thanks Secret Vatican Spy! Yes, I know you have a name- I just love your blog’s name- Save your pennies so you can travel to Rome on your honeymoon…and Assisi, too! You will love it and can send postcards to Protestant friends from the Vatican post office πŸ™‚

  3. spilisz08 December 5, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Hey, thanks for the shout-out! I have really enjoyed reading your blog too. Keep ’em coming! πŸ™‚

  4. politicalhousewyf December 6, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    Thank you for the mention!

    And I love lurking! Some days, I just want to read and think and let things sort themselves out in my head instead of on screen. Because you know how bad I am at short posts. πŸ™‚

  5. Rebecca@Modestia December 7, 2010 at 1:05 am #

    Aww, thanks for the mention doll!

Leave a Reply

