7 Quick Takes Vol. 9 – Hi, my name is _____

16 Dec

7 Quick Takes Friday, hosted at ConversionDiary.com

This blog started as a whim three short months ago. I was just going to see what happened, see if I could stick to consistent updating, run a trial, so to speak. I can’t tell you how therapeutic it’s been for me. Maybe it’s been more of a cause for therapy for you.In which case, I don’t apologize – I’m a social work student, I’ve gotta keep my peers in jobs.

We’ve developed a little bit of a community here, so I thought for this week’s 7 Quick Takes, it’s time I gave all of you readers a chance to introduce yourselves to each other, pull up a chair, and get comfortable.

You can use the following meme* as an example, or just free-form it. Let’s do lunch!
Visit ConversionDiary.com for more!

Yes, fellow Conversion Diary fanatics, I did steal this idea from Jennifer. BUT IT’S AWESOME! WHO WOULDN’T?? Forgive me?

1. Where are you from?


2. What’s your religious background?


3. If the world was facing nuclear disaster and you had to disappear into a bunker for three years, what would you bring with you? (Assuming food, water, and clothing were already prepared for?)


4. In your religious experience, who had the most profound influence on you?


5. If you have one, who is your Confirmation saint?


6. Favorite Christmas tradition?


7. Least favorite Christmas tradition?

 

*These are legitimate questions I always wonder about people as soon as I meet them. I just rarely have an opportunity to frame them in context. But this a blog. Who needs context?

15 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Vol. 9 – Hi, my name is _____”

  1. Calah December 17, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Great idea, Kassie! Ok, here goes.

    1. Born and raised in Bedford, TX. How I miss it so.
    2. Grew up non-denominational Protestant. We were more of the Baptist variety when I was younger, although now my parents are straying dangerously close to Calvinism. I’m trying to reclaim them.
    3. My children and husband. If they were already in the bunker (unlikely, since I’m a total alarmist) I would bring the Bible, papal encyclicals, and every other book in our library I could carry, except Joyce, which I would “accidentally” forget. Then I would go pack for some playing cards and board games.
    4. My husband, for sure. Then my wonderful godparents, my priest, my friends, my in-laws, and G. K. Chesterton.
    5. I chose St. Elizabeth Ann Seton. Little-known fact about her: she converted after living in Italy with her children and husband. Her husband died before her conversion, and her entire family (including in-laws) were very devout Anglicans. When she converted they cut off all contact and help, leaving her newly widowed, newly moved back to America, and penniless with five small children. And out of all that she started the Catholic education system in America. She’s awesome.
    6. It used to be bickering with my siblings. Now it’s Christmas Eve Mass. It’s my husband’s favorite Mass of the year, and the only Mass in which he’ll actually sing, and loudly. I love it.
    7. The ham my mother-in-law makes. She’s a great cook, but I hate ham. Blech.

    • The Secret Vatican Spy December 17, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      Calah! I live less than 100 miles south of you. I totally drive through Bedford all the time. One of my good friends lives in Carrolton and another in North Richland Hills. Just thought that was funny. Have a great visit with your family, I’m loving being with mine. Merry Christmas!

    • spilisz08 December 17, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

      I hate ham too. So gross.

  2. Elizabeth December 17, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    1. Virginia!!
    2. Cradle Catholic
    3. Bible (I feel like this is the obligatory answer, but it would keep me occupied), my family (please?), and tons of paper, pens and pencils.
    4. Prayer through the Holy Trinity and Mary. If you meant person physically on Earth: Patrick Madrid helped a lot.
    5. Elizabeth Ann Seton
    6. Happy Birthday Jesus party on Christmas Eve
    7. Stress

  3. priest's wife December 17, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    1. born at UCLA medical hospital!

    2. various Protestant stuff when I was little- baptized Episcopalian when I was 7, spent 2 years as a Quaker, converted with my family to Catholicism when I was 12- now, by virtue of marriage I am Byzantine Catholic

    3. In a disaster- the required books would be: Collected Works of C.S. Lewis, JRR Tolkien, L.M. Montgomery, etc, etc, and any and all great spiritual works like Introduction to the Devout Life by St Francis de Sales – for fun, a sewing machine (call me Mrs. Beaver)with accompanying supplies- art supplies- and a backgammon/chess set

    4. Franciscan Fr. Gus in Austria, Fr Tertullian Langa from Romania who spent 12 years in prison for being Catholic

    5. St. Anne

    6. Caroling, decorating the Christmas tree, good food, church activities, going to the snow (doesn’t happen every year), no classes, filling the stockings, eggnog, etc, etc

    7. needing to go to the mall- as much as I try not to go, it still happens a little

  4. spilisz08 December 17, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    I love this idea! I will steal it at some point, if I remember!

    1. I was born in Livingston, NJ, but raised just outside Scranton, PA. I live in Indianapolis now.

    2. I am a cradle Catholic, but I was raised from age 7 by my maternal grandparents who are not Catholic. They continued to take me to church because it’s whats my mom wanted.

    3. My husband, daughter, dog, and a giant suitcase full of books. Also, an endless box of cinnamon toast crunch.

    4. Several friends in college who got me involved in a wonderful praise and worship group and lots of discussions. Also, reading a lot of Lewis and theology of the body.

    5. I chose St. Bernadette when I was in 8th grade. The feast of Our Lady of Lourdes (Feb. 11) is close to my birthday so I chose her.

    6. Christmas eve Mass, decorating the tree, watching Muppets Christmas Carol every year!

    7. wrapping gifts, writing cards.

    Thanks for doing this, it was fun to read everyone’s!

  5. Julie Robison December 17, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    1. Cincinnati, Ohio!

    2. (cradle) Roman Catholic

    3. I would bring something to write with and on! and something to read; the Bible, Evelyn Waugh and Flannery O’Connor, preferably πŸ™‚

    4. Mary and praying the rosary- she helps me better understand Christ her son, what it means to be a woman, the importance of the sacraments; also, reading the lives of saints and the Bible, and the Eucharist πŸ™‚

    5. St. Elizabeth of Hungry!

    6. Advent; Advent wreath; sending out Christmas cards; reading The Christmas Mystery

    7. Having to go to church an hour beforehand to get a seat :/

  6. Liesl Baumann December 18, 2010 at 12:49 am #

    1. OHIO! But currently residing in the DC area.

    2. Cradle Catholic, but just really learning the beauty of the faith in the past year and a half or so.

    3. My family and friends. And a priest!

    4. I can only give credit to the Holy Spirit! But the chaplain at my grad school has been very instrumental in my faith journey this past year.

    5. St. Frances Cabrini

    6. Morning gift opening with the parents and sisters and then breakfast casserole before heading off to spend time with all the extended family

    7. When we were little, Santa would come early so that we could travel on Christmas. I never liked that.

  7. Lianna December 18, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    1. Minnesota, but usually living in Iowa these days

    2. Cradle Catholic

    3. 3 years! Family, Bible, rosary, writing utensils and notebooks, books

    4. My grandfather

    5. Miriam (Hebrew form of Mary)

    6. We have a birthday cake and sing to Jesus

    7. Materialistic ones

  8. The Sojourner December 18, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    1. A smallish city in west-central Ohio.

    2. Catholic (officially) since I was a little less than 2 months old. (January 12, 1990.) My mom was a Catholic catechized in the 70s, which meant not really catechized at all; my dad was a nondenominational Protestant who stopped going to church at all when he left home at 17 to join the army, and then started going to Mass when he met my mother 6 years later. After almost 17 years of marriage and 2 Catholic children he read his way into the Church.

    3. My first thought was “My boyfriend and a priest.” πŸ™‚ I’ll leave it at that, because I’m an overpacker and could go on for pages about what I’d be likely to bring.

    4. C. S. Lewis. Do you know that scene at the end of the Last Battle where Aslan obliquely reveals that he is Jesus? I read that when I was about 11 and I cannot describe the sudden opening out of my world that it engendered. I fell in love with Jesus at that moment.

    5. St. Monica. My dad entered the Church a year after I was confirmed. πŸ™‚

    6. My dad reading Twas The Night Before Christmas to us.

    7. Chaos. Speaking of which, some relatives just arrived and I ought to leave my happy introvert bubble now.

  9. The Secret Vatican Spy December 19, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    I’m loving reading everyone’s responses! I just realized that I completely forgot to do this. πŸ˜€ So here are mine.

    1. I was raised in the country in TX, but the closest BIG town was Corsicana – I lived more in the Fairfield area, though.

    2. I’m a PK – my parents are in the Charismatic, New Apostolic movement.

    3. I’m a complete alarmist, so I would have almost everything prepared for in my bunker already. I would just need to grab my last-minute emergency bag. πŸ˜€

    4. In my conversion my biggest influences have been my godmother Kimberlie, Jennifer Fulwiler at Conversion Diary, Hallie Lord at Betty Beguiles, and various other Catholic blogs. The Catholic blogosphere was more of an influence on me than anything. I was a classical/great books educated homeschooler and had already read most of the “important” Church documents – it took seeing the Faith lived out to push me over the edge.

    5. I have two confirmation saints chosen! St. Gianna Beretta Molla and St. Thomas More.

    6. We have SO MANY in my family. We are Christmas People. Oddly, we have always celebrated Advent – so one of my favorites is lighting the Advent candles and reading our annual Advent story, Jotham’s Journey. My other favorite tradition is Christmas morning. Mom makes sausage rolls, and we all open presents one at a time. Then we watch movies and chill at the house in PJ’s all day – this year we’ll be watching the Doctor Who Christmas special.

    7. Growing up I always HATED IT when Christmas fell on a Saturday, because I was the praise and worship leader (from the age of 12), and I would have to wake up early and get to the church to set up and rehearse. . .BLEH. Christmas is on Saturday again this year, but I’ll be able to enjoy catching up my “original” church family and Mass after.

  10. Thomas Fuller December 20, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    1. I am from southeast Michigan, not far from Detroit.

    2. My family consists of non-religious theists of the post-Baptist variety. I became a Oneness Pentecostal because I was baptized in the Holy Spirit when I visited with a friend when I was 14. Then by the shear grace of God rescuing me, I then left for a nondenominational, evangelical church at 18, and received a proper baptism. All throughout my 20th year I kept just happening to learn more and more about Catholicism until I began to suspect God was calling me to join the Church, after three months of rebellious refusal, He finally brought me around, and I was confirmed at age 21, going on six years ago.

    3. Books, a computer (for games, movies, and writing, etc, I assume there’s no internet, lol), and some board games.

    4. Besides like Jesus and the Holy Spirit? So many people… one big one was my last Protestant pastor, who taught me how to really study the scriptures and think critically about my doctrinal beliefs. He was not pleased when this led to my conversion to Catholicism.

    5. My confirmation saint is St. Joseph, foster father of Jesus. Jesus said he wanted to share his earthly father with me so I would have a father who prayed for me. As I prepare for marriage now, I find him especially helpful and inspiring.

    6. Favorite Christmas tradition? Midnight Mass, I’ve always gone by myself, but I almost like it best that way.

    7. The free-for-all of giftmas. Presents are nice, but too often they become some sort of idol.

  11. george57 December 24, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    hi, please help me, my sister -in law being catholic says , a person can believe 1, without baptism one will not be saved,2,and only true salvation is with the catholic church, via Mary, 3, and salvation is with works+grace, +mass+confession of sins to the priests , can someone give me bible verses to just to back-up above statements, the pope says there is salvation outside Jesus Christ, to other faiths if they live a good life, in doing good works, thanks for your help. merry xmas.

  12. george57 December 24, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    hi, george57, i have been with christ 26 years, married, 2 sons, 27, 32, 1 wife, i dog, 5 fish, and stay in scotland, my joy is to talk over other peoples love for christ, and why, +ask each other questions, my sister in law is catholic, so sometimes its hard to get all the facts on what is truth ,we all think we know but only god knows all the answers, so merry amas, to all . god bless. george

Leave a Reply

