7 Quick Takes Vol. 10

31 Dec

Visits home are always bittersweet for me. I am very, very close to my family, and life always falls back into the pre-College pattern pretty quickly. So when I have to snap out of that I never know if the transition is going to be rough and tear-heavy for a week or so afterwards, or if I’m going to kiss my family goodbye and breathe a sweet sigh of relief that my life can resume its routine. I can already tell this trip is going to be a bit of a hard transition, but I have to say I’m excited to get back to Tulsa and get 2011 started.

2011 Brings. . .

1. New beginnings!
No, literally! Two of the most precious people I know have just returned from China with their new son. Please go visit my sponsor and god-parents and congratulate them on their new arrival!

2. New wardrobe!
Well. . .not really new. But new to me! Every year at this time I plan out a new wardrobe. I do this a few times throughout the year, but the beginning of the year is the big one. I lay out every article of clothing I own, check it for fit, damage, modesty, style, etc., and put together outfits. I name the outfit “sets”, write down options for class, work, and weekend, and then obsessively put it together into a document with pretty fonts and pictures of the outfits – it’s kind of OCD, and I usually end up not sticking to it a few months into it, but I am determined to make it work this year.

3. New body!
I was in classical ballet for 15 years, and really, really liked my body. I had a low weight – but I’m also like, ridiculously short, so I still had my curves and didn’t look like a Balanchine skeleton dancer. I’m no longer a dance major, and am only teaching and choreographing part time, so there have been some changes there. I like some of them – for starters, I can actually donate blood if I want to – but it’s been an adjustment not being in 10+ hours of rehearsals every day on top of daily technique classes. I’ve noticed it more in strength and cardiovascular health than size, but I want to get a handle on all of it. I recognize the fact that I will never again have any need to be 98 lbs, but I do want to stay healthy. And I also don’t want to lose most of my wardrobe. So I’ve started running, and am getting back into the whole-foods diet I was raised on.

4. New semester!
I just have two words for this. Thank. God.

5. New Church!
EASTER IS ONLY FOUR MONTHS AWAY! I CAN SO DO THIS!

6. New doors!
I will be starting my full-fledged senior year in the Fall – which means I’m going to have to start making lots of decisions about grad-school, social work fields, etc. It’s been a bumpy road – I would have been graduating this May, but some financial issues came up that prevented that from happening – but I am very, very excited to be able to just GET THIS UNDERGRAD THING DONE.

7. A new era!
I turn 21 this year – which means I will FINALLY get a horizontal drivers license. Seriously. Don’t laugh. I HATE vertical drivers licenses. It drives my OCD absolutely bonkers.

HAPPY NEW YEARS, FRIENDS!

7 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Vol. 10”

  1. Elizabeth December 31, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Wow, I thought I was pretty OCD… I haven’t done that with my clothes yet, but I have to say that it’s pretty tempting.

    Four months!! You can do it!

  2. Tara Meghan January 1, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    What on Earth is a vertical drivers license?

  3. Julie Robison January 1, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Enjoy your time in college, seriously. It may feel long with papers and the like, but once it is gone, you will miss it. 🙂

  4. Kimberlie January 1, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    What a great idea about the wardrobe though it’s a bit too planned for me. Of course, when all you do is wear “mom jeans” and t-shirts most of the time, there’s no need to really plan a wardrobe. 😉

    Can’t wait to see you! I am so excited for you to meet our newest family member!

  5. priest's wife January 3, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    what a big year! My goal is to make dinner when I make breakfast…crock pots here I come!

  6. Lisa October 4, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    you realize, of course, they have medication for this

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 7 Quick Takes Vol. 10 « Secret Vatican Spy -- Topsy.com - December 31, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Eli Silva, Kassie Rutherford. Kassie Rutherford said: 7 Quick Takes! http://wp.me/p13mMc-3j […]

Leave a Reply

