My new best friends: how St. Thomas More and St. Gianna kick Validation @$$. Part I.

19 Jan

Most of you know I’m a student at Oral Roberts University.

Yes, God’s very own bulwark of Christian truth and formation, located in the bustling metropolis of. . .Tulsa, Oklahoma.

The question remains, if it’s God’s University, then why, pray tell, is it named after Oral Roberts?

But I digress.

Hazing is not allowed on this campus. Neither is drinking, smoking, getting frisky with significant (or insignificant) others – although if someone mentions praying in tongues in the prayer gardens they’re probably referencing the latter and not a Day of Pentecost style outbreak of glossolalia.

What IS allowed is mass self-mutilation imposed upon the entire campus, at the beginning of every semester. They won’t go as far as to call is corporal mortification – but we keep coming back for more, even though WE KNOW it’s coming. Really, we students only have ourselves to blame. This tribute to the great penititential saints before us we call. . .

Validation.

[cue scary organ music]

Validation is the University’s way of making sure everyone has all of their business together, theoretically before classes begin. It’s attainment is reason for much rejoicing, and maybe even an old-fashioned pew jump or two for those of us not hailing from independently wealthy evangelist families. Never, in all of my semesters at ORU, have I been Validated by the deadline – because I have always been “randomly selected” for financial verification by the Department of Education. I don’t know how long it’s going to take them to accept the fact that YES THERE ARE 9 PEOPLE LIVING AT HOME. YES, WE ARE POOR. NO, REALLY. WE’RE THAT POOR. NO, WE AREN’T HIDING MILLIONS IN A SWISS BANK. I have gotten several extensions while they pore over tax documents, because not a dime of my scholarships and grants is released to me until they determine that I’m not a dependent of Bill Gates.

This semester was a little different, though. I had to take a hiatus from full-time enrollment because of some financial and personal issues in my family. Meaning, I forfeited my scholarships and grants. Meaning, barring some miracle, I was going to have to come up with $14,332 if I wished to be full-time and live on campus (a requirement for full-time students under 25). It’s too late in my degree plan to transfer without having to retake an entire year or two, so I was really, REALLY hoping for a big, fat, golden miracle.

I recently chose St. Thomas More and St. Gianna Beretta Molla as my confirmation saints. St. Thomas More was, among many other spectacular things, very, very VERY pro-women-being-educated. St. Gianna was a highly educated pediatrician. So, I prayed with both of them. I was all “blubberblubberblubberI-need-to-go-back-to-school-sniffsniff-but-I-don’t-want-to-starve-to-do-itsobsob-I-don’t-want-to-babysit-kids-forever-and-ever-blubberblubber-please-pray”.

After a few horrendous days of running across campus multiple times to be told multiple things, then finally informed I’d have to completely reapply, I was about ready to run away and join a convent. But then, I ran into one of the head admissions officers, and it turns out SHE KNOWS MY FATHER – and not because he reposssed one of her vehicles, which is how most random people I run into know him, but through the ministry! I praised Jesus and all the saints for the protestant New Apostolic Movement, and didn’t get struck by lightning. She sat down with me, told me what to fill out, and then I go to the computer to check my registration forms.

I winced as I clicked on the balance owed  button.

Zero.

I refreshed, thinking SURELY they just haven’t registered me for classes.

No. No, I was definitely full-time.

And definitely owing NO MONEY.

In fact, the school owed ME the exact amount – down to the cent – that I need for textbooks.

ALL of my scholarships had been entirely reinstated – and I had gained a scholarship and another grant.

I made three different people double and triple verify, because I was about two heartbreaks away from throwing myself off of the Prayer Tower. But it was TRUE!

So, I’m sitting here in the computer lab getting ready to head to classes – because BOTH of my laptops are out of commission, which is why I’ve been silent – PRAISING GOD, and thoroughly enjoying the companionship of my new BFF’s, St. Thomas More and St. Gianna.

Who totally came through with the whole hard-core intercession thing AGAIN yesterday, but that’s another story for later this week.

8 Responses to “My new best friends: how St. Thomas More and St. Gianna kick Validation @$$. Part I.”

  1. Julie Robison January 19, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Te deum!! That is very exciting. I was in the same boat as you before my senior year, so I understand the stress. God provides, be it through financial aid, peace of mind and/ or his saints! 🙂

  2. Calah January 19, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Oh Kassie yay! Congratulations! I’m so happy for you!!!

    You picked two very, very excellent saints. I absolutely love both of them. And they totally came through for you! How cool!

  3. priest's wife January 19, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Am I too old to say LOL! It is very humorous to me that beloved St Thomas More interceded for you- good thing Oral doesn’t know… 🙂

  4. Lianna January 19, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Wow, that is AMAZING!!! Praise God! I am also having financial struggles. It’s my last semester. God has gotten me through so far. He will do so still!

  5. politicalhousewyf January 19, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    BFF’s! Ha ha ha! 😀

    I love it when God not only provides, but makes it SO obvious that it was no coincidence!

    I knew someone in my parish in the law program at Regent U (Pat Robertson) who told people who asked, “Have you prayed about it?” that, “Oh, yeah, I went to Adoration, and…” pulling her Miraculous Medal out of her sweater collar, “Mary’s got my back!”

  6. Kimberlie January 20, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    Praising God with you! That is awesome!!! Isn’t it completely pitiful that in the bijillion years since I have graduated that they still haven’t improved that dang validation process? This is now the 21st century people?!? I think it’s a test to see how much perseverance you have. It is just too incredibly frustrating.

    I “discovered” St. Thomas More in late October (2010). I mean, it’s not that I didn’t really know he was a saint, it was just all that Henry VIII stuff and losing one’s head. Rather gruesome, so I didn’t bother to read much about him. He completely rocks. I used him as an example for my CCD students of one who had every privilege of his day, and stood to lose a lot along with his life (wife, kids), and yet he would not compromise his morals. Definitely one to keep on your “go to” list.

  7. spilisz08 January 21, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    You picked two great ones! T. More (as I call him) is my husbands confirmation saint, and St. Gianna is my baby’s patron. 🙂

    I can’t believe you’re a Catholic at ORU. Do people know?

  8. Jennifer January 22, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Praising and rejoicing with you!! What a wonderful testament of faith! I will join you in prayer for a successful and fulfilling semester! And I too am surprised by a Catholic at ORU. I want to know if others know as well.. and are you comfortable there?

Leave a Reply

