This is home.

26 Jan

I haven’t been able to listen to this song by Switchfoot without crying for two days now. It sums up exactly how I feel about my conversion, and my upbringing in the Protestant church. Listen and enjoy.

I’ve got my memories
Always inside of me
But I can’t go back
Back to how it was
I believe you now
I’ve come too far
No I can’t go back
Back to how it was

Created for a place I’ve never known

[Chorus]
This is home
Now I’m finally where I belong
Where I Belong
Yeah, this is home
I’ve been searching for a place of my own
Now I’ve found it
Maybe this is home
This is home

Belief over misery
I’ve seen the enemy
And I won’t go back
Back to how it was
And I got my heart set on what happens next
I got my eyes wide it’s not over yet
We are miracles and we’re not alone

[Chorus]

And now after all my searching
After all my questions
I’m gonna call it home
I’ve got a brand new mindset
I can finally see the sunset
I’m gonna call it home

[Chorus]

Now I know
Yeah, this is home
I’ve come too far
And I won’t go back
Yeah, this is home

5 Responses to “This is home.”

  1. convertingheart January 26, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Wow! The tears are flowing here, too.

  2. priest's wife January 26, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    beautiful! praying for you….Lent is coming up (!) and then EASTER!!!

  3. Ciska @ This Journey of my Life January 27, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    The lyrics are beautiful! A song with a similar text meant a lot for me in my conversion proces. I wrote a blogpost about it (http://thisjourneyofmylife.wordpress.com/2010/12/07/my-journey-to-catholicism-the-eight-step/).

    • Liesl Baumann January 27, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

      I love Switchfoot! I really like how their songs are applicable to faith but also friendships and relationships too.

      And you’re so close to being fully home! Only a few more months!

  4. Sarah @BeatenCopperLamp February 1, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    What a beautiful expression of your faith! I really love some of Switchfoot’s songs too, especially “Gone” since I’m a historian. I can’t wait to read about the rest of your conversion experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

