Seven Quick Takes

28 Jan

Thanks to Jen at conversiondiary.com for hosting!

1. This is a no-frills edition, because I still have no computer and am writing this in bed, on my phone, in the middle of the night, wide-awake with the remnants of a stomach bug. Bleh. So any grammatical errors or awkward wording blame on my exhaustion or iPhone auto correct.

2. I actually finished these ten minutes ago but my phone spazzed when I hit publish and I lost the whole thing. I cried. It’s been a long week, leave me alone.

3. I’ve found myself typing in random destinations on google maps and pondering what it would be like to just pump my car full of gas and take off for a few days. I have a serious case of wanderlust. So, anyone want to roadtrip with me? Or be the destination of a roadtrip? 😉

4. My godmother gave me a miraculous medal blessed by PJPII that her sponsor gave her when she converted. Yes, she’s fantastic, I know. I attached it to my main rosary’s center and try to pray at least a decade or two during ORU’s mandatory twice-weekly chapel services – with intentions for the conversion of the week’s speaker.

5. I’m planning a personal, self-directed spiritual retreat for myself in the next few weeks. Except, I’ve never done this before. I’ve received some fantastic suggestions from twitter and friends, but I would love anything you have to add to the mix! So please – suggest away.

6. I promise I’m not ignoring any comments or emails. My computer time is very limited, and I have to prioritize getting homework done. Fear not, once I’m able to buy another laptop I can procrastinate my education with abandon and flair.

7. AND THE BEST FOR LAST –

My niece, Cambridge, was born on my daddy’s birthday! 8 pounds 4 ounces. I can’t wait to meet her!

14 Responses to “Seven Quick Takes”

  1. Ciska January 28, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    I LOVE number 4! Have they ever seen you praying the rosary? I would love to know how they react to it.
    And concerning the retreat: would you mind posting a few ideas? I’ve been pondering a self-directed retreat too, but I’ve always backed out, because I have no idea what to do, so I could use some ideas.
    And of course: congratulations on becoming an aunt to Cambridge!

    • The Secret Vatican Spy January 28, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

      Absolutely! I’m putting a plan together – I’ll post when I get something solidified. Priest’s Wife put together an awesome post about retreats on her 7 Quick Takes – she links to it below.

  2. Liesl Baumann January 28, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    How’s this for a road trip? Go to googlemaps and track from USA to Japan. Check out step number 31. Hahaha.

    Hope you get feeling better!

    • The Secret Vatican Spy January 28, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

      LOVE IT – the route to China is like that too. It makes me giggle and then wonder if anyone is brave enough to attempt it?

  3. Kathleen January 28, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    You can road trip our direction. Although we’re not a huge destination or anything. 🙂

    The image of you praying the Rosary in twapel gives me the giggles. You go girl! How many days till Easter??? 🙂

    I totally get crying b/c you lost your post. As you will see in mine. LOL Hope you are back to 100% very very soon!

    • The Secret Vatican Spy January 28, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      So glad to know I’m not the only one. 😀

      Please – I’m from small town east Texas. Any place with a population higher than 1000 and more than two traffic lights is a destination to me!

  4. priest's wife January 28, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Actually- I do live at a ‘destination’ (hence the $300,000 townhouse that we bought with dog vomit on the walls)- you are invited

    still thinking about retreat suggestions…..

  5. Calah January 28, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Oh my gosh! Come see me, I’m in the nexus of the culture of death! You could get some serious praying on out here. And see the Hoover Dam at the same time. We could even drive out to the Grand Canyon or go skiing.

    And the drive itself is beautiful. Eighteen hours from Dallas! Sold yet?

    I, too, love #4. You rock.

    • The Secret Vatican Spy January 28, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

      I am sold, actually. I think I’m going to map out a blogger roadtrip. On a related note, my life started in Vegas, with a midnight drive-thru wedding. COINCIDENCE? I think not. 😉

  6. Rebecca@Modestia January 28, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    If you’re going to do a retreat—my one piece of advice would be to leave points in your retreat for “nothing.” Leave room to allow yourself to be silent—no praying, no reading, no nothing. Just empty yourself and allow God to speak to you. (Or not speak to you.)

    I went on a silent retreat last year that change my life. Maintaining true silence was really hard, but totally worth it.

    If you email me your mailing address, I have something I want to send you.

  7. priest's wife January 28, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Thanks for the inspiration for my quick takes!

    http://remnantofremnant.blogspot.com/2011/01/cobblers-wife-7-quick-takes.html

  8. Julie Robison January 28, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Totally get it. I’m having a week too. I would leave your retreat open to possibility. Maybe talk to a nun, or just try to have a series of interview with people and talk to them about their spiritual journeys. A lot can be gleaned. Reading, praying, sleeping, fasting, and take walks outside, appreciating God’s creation!

    Congrats on the new niece!!!

  9. Allison Welch January 28, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I don’t know if you’re near a Madonna House http://www.madonnahouse.org/ but the one near me is amazing. It’s just one of those places where you can feel your soul say “Ahhh….” as soon as you enter. God bless.

Leave a Reply

