7 Quick Takes Vol. Whatever

18 Feb

1) Your prayers are very much coveted for a mother named Shannon in our parish that passed away this last weekend. She is a dear friend of my godmother Kimberlie’s, and has three young children and a husband. While you’re at, if you would pray for Kimberlie that would be fantastic.

2) I had an unexpected holiday from work this week, and I’m not complaining at all. But between the two snow weeks and my nanny family’s vacation, I’m going to have a hard time adjusting to life as usual again!

3) Eli’s birthday was Thursday. He worked all day, so we didn’t really get to celebrate, but I made him this cake that we’ll get to eat tomorrow. The kitchen in my dorm is set on a 15 minute timer, so all the appliances turn off after 15 minutes and then have to be completely reset. This is supposedly to keep students from burning the kitchen down. I feel that they’re just trying to drive us insane. But when I finished watching my godmother’s children tonight I went over to another friend’s place and baked there. Except, their oven’s temperature is off. So, who knows what this cake will actually taste like. But every other time I’ve had it, it has been utterly sinful. And I hate chocolate.

4) While at Kimberlie’s tonight, I was helping her four kids get ready for bed. Her youngest boy was standing to the side while the other three kids were brushing their teeth. “[Dumpling #4], you need to brush your teeth!”
“Kassie, I can’t. I want to be last so I can be first in heaven.”
I grinned. Go team.

5) There has been some fantastic conversation going on in my com-box. The past few weeks have been spent surviving snow storms and catching up on massive papers, so I haven’t had much time to respond, but let me tell you, they have led to some fascinating conversations in the few spare moments Eli and I have to actually catch up in person. I appreciate each and every one of you that has taken the time to share your thoughts and experiences, particularly Jackie at Blueberries For Me, The Ogre (yes, the barefoot and pregnant Calah’s Ogre), Tienne McKenzie, and Khouria Jen.

6) My 15-year-old brother,

This one.

Had his first taste of heartbreak this week. Ever the comedian he wrote about it on his fledgling blog, Existential Bacon. Yes, you read that correctly. Go support a young writer! He’s funny.

7) I’m desperate for vegetarian and vegan recipes. I’m trying to discern what I’m supposed to be doing for Lent, and I have a sneaking suspicion that going vegetarian is going to play a part in that. So if you have any recipe love that you could send my way, I’m all for it.

Visit ConversionDiary.com for more!

11 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Vol. Whatever”

  1. Ciska February 18, 2011 at 2:29 am #

    You want to give up all meat? That will be a tough one! My number one goal for Lent is to go to mass and evening prayer as often as possible. And give up chocolate of course. But stopping to eat meat? Wow.

  2. jaloru95 February 18, 2011 at 2:32 am #

    Whoa! Who’s that good lookin’ guy in that picture?!? Oh, right. Me! Look at your man, now look at me. Now look back at your man, now look at me. Told ya Protestents were hotter.

  3. Jonathan February 18, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    Giving up delicious animal for Lent? Good luck, I pray it goes better than it did when I gave up meat for Lent. My suggestion would be lots of protein. I was getting mine exclusively from soy and refried beans. Okay, the rare egg may have made its way to my plate as well. But getting all the daily vitamins are essential. I wasn’t following that path, and ended up quite weak, to the point where I could no longer walk to class without assistance. So that is one thing to keep in mind. As for recipes… salads are usually quick and easy. Boca burgers saved my life during Lent, due to their awesomeness. Anyways, I talk too much, forgive me.

    Oh, and #4 is the cutest thing I’ve heard in a long time. 🙂

  4. Tara Meghan February 18, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    That is a hilarious blog. Fifteen year old boys (sorry, ahem, young men) are the funniest human beings on the face of the earth.

    Sigh, my little brother is 26 now.

  5. Kathleen February 18, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    The Orthodox Church does that. Vegan, I mean. It boggles my mind.

    I’ve missed most of your blog lately b/c I haven’t been on Twitter! Clearly I need to add you to my reader. Okay…done. Going over to comment on other post/s. 🙂

  6. priest's wife February 18, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    ….lots of prayers for your friend and her God mother- may her memory be eternal…

    going meatless isn’t that hard (Vegan is not easy!)- if you have a fried egg every morning, you won’t crave meat- remember Sundays are imperial feast days- so meat away if you want to (we Byzantines even sing Alleluia on Sundays during Lent because it is an imperial feast day- shocks the Roman-riters)- watch my blog- I’ll probably do my favorite meatless recipes for the next quick takes

  7. Tami Boesiger February 19, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    Watch out for Dumpling #4. He’s got game! Funny stuff!

  8. Blueberries For Me February 19, 2011 at 2:20 am #

    Ooh, I gave up meat for lent last year. Sort of. I worked at a homeless shelter and most of the lunches we served had meat in them, and it was cheaper for me to eat there rather than pack a lunch. So I just tried to pick around the meat.

    Re: #4. When I was babysitting my 4 year old cousin once, she was taking a bath and when we got her our she started yelling “I have to brush my teeth! I have to brush my teeth! Quick – or they are going to fall out!” Apparently her mom always brushed her teeth right after the bath, explaining that’s what you do so that they dont’ fall out. She thought it was an immediate effect!

  9. Elizabeth February 20, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    #4 made me laugh! Just like a child to say that, no wonder Jesus liked them so much!

    Thanks for plugging your brother’s blog! You’re right, he is funny!

  10. khouria jen February 20, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    the priest’s wife had a couple comments on an entry that gave some ideas:

    http://www.molliekatzen.com/archives.php
    http://www.orthodoxkitchen.com/

  11. Maggie May 3, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Hey Kassie! Found you randomly via Betty Beguiles’s Twitter. First of all, welcome home! I’m a convert too; became Catholic in college at age 22. So glad you’ve come into full communion! Also, I know Lent is over and you might be back to eating meat again, but occasionally my friend Sarah Badger lists some great vegan recipes on her blog, which is here.
    Blessing to you and yours!!

Leave a Reply

