7 Quick Takes – It’s Friday Already??

25 Feb

1) I hate that I’ve blogged nothing but quick takes lately. But my choices are blog avidly or, you know, pass classes. I’m going to have to err on the side of passing my classes.

2) Speaking of classes, it’s that time of year! Course Registration. I’m about to make a confession. And most of us are liturgical Christians, which means you have to be nice about confessions. At least, you can’t run around gossiping about it.

Ready?

I love registering for courses. No, not registering for courses as in the dark night of my soul commonly referred to as Validation/semester registration/medieval torture. The actual printing out degree evaluations and meeting with my advisor and carefully crafting my degree plan. . .ahhhhh. Hear that? That’s the sound of a nerd’s heart exploding with ecstasy. After mapping my plan of attack, I count down the seconds to midnight, when I’m able to log on to my beloved-but-archaic SunSystems account (Vision, as ORU renamed it) and snag my classes. I always develop this sense of profound urgency, even though the population of this campus is roughly the same size as my (very small) hometown, and there are less than 40 other students in my major. Read: the classes aren’t going anywhere. But I digress. I’m a happy student.

3) My friend Rachel, sadly, won’t be able to experience this at ORU ever again. Surely it’s not the same in grad school, right? She’s fantastic, and talented, and she wrote an excellent post on her blog called the Burden of Caring. You should read it, and congratulate her on making her 50% Missions deadline AND finishing senior paper.

4) I’ve been reading “Ella Enchanted” to the two kids that I nanny. Well – I started reading it, got tired of reading out loud two chapters in, then finished the whole book while they were taking naps. It was one of my favorite light reads when it first came out, and I hadn’t read it since then. Such a cute, cute retelling of Cinderella.

5) Which reminds me – I got the large print, hardcover, read-aloud collector’s edition of said book for $5 at the Borders closest to the ORU campus. It was one of the victims of the Borders bankruptcy. One the one hand, it’s sad because that was one of my favorite off-campus homework spots. One the other, it’s a very, very good thing for my budget – the sales at the place are insane right now.

6) One of my buys was a copy of the official Dr. Who magazine for only $4, complete with three posters. This is a big deal because it’s printed in the UK and usually at least $12 in the US.

7) That’s about it in this crazy semester of mine. Have a great weekend!

Visit ConversionDiary.com for more!

13 Responses to “7 Quick Takes – It’s Friday Already??”

  1. Leah @ Unequally Yoked February 25, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    I love Ella Enchanted. I’ve been having a hard time getting work done this week since I just started reading Sunshine by Robin McKinley (whom I also adore!).

    • Leah @ Unequally Yoked February 25, 2011 at 1:32 am #

      Yipes! Sorry for the screwed up link above. I was trying to link to the book page here. (Let’s see if I managed it this time)

      • The Secret Vatican Spy February 25, 2011 at 1:40 am #

        No worries! I love Robin McKinley’s fairy tales. So beautiful.

  2. Rachel W. February 25, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    i object to you calling ella enchanted a “light read.” sure, compared to textbooks, but it’s a pretty grownup book for the intended age group, methinks. the movie didn’t have enough of the serious stuff in it. and the ogres weren’t even scary! /rant

    • The Secret Vatican Spy February 25, 2011 at 1:39 am #

      To put it into perspective, I finished reading the Silmarillion for the second time immediately before I bought Ella Enchanted at a book fair.

  3. Blueberries For Me February 25, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Have you ever heard of Briar Rose by Jane Yolen? It’s a not-so-light retelling of Sleeping Beauty (but set in the Holocaust). It’s quite good.

  4. Kathleen February 25, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    The Silmarillion! OMG! I adore LotR and I read it often, but I have to confess I had a HARD time getting throug Silmarillion.

    I haven’t read Ella Enchanted although the movie was definitely cute. Note: add to list. Blueberries is spot on with Jane Yolen’s Briar Rose. W-O-W. May I say again: W-O-W. I’m in awe of a woman who can write great books for little children and also Briar Rose.

    BTW, I *loved* figuring out/registering for classes in college. Guess I was a nerd too. 🙂

    • Blueberries For Me February 25, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      Have you read Owl Moon by her? It might be one of my top 10 books ever. Beautiful.

      • Kathleen February 25, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

        We had that one upstairs from the library but I haven’t had a chance to read it. Got to go dig it out…come to think of it, I haven’t seen it in about a week. Darn those kids, hauling things all over the house…

  5. Julie Robison February 25, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    love, love, love ella enchanted!!

    and registering for courses. I’m going back to school just so I can register again. Well, and for other reasons. 🙂

  6. Amanda February 25, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Where on earth did you find a Doctor Who magazine for $4???? Where? Please do share the source of your good fortune!

  7. priest's wife February 25, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    …quick takes are good because they keep you blogging a bit- I am in a desert-phase myself. What else to write about???

  8. politicalhousewyf February 26, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    Oh, good, I’m not the only one hitting early spring saying, “Gee, I’ve only done Quick Takes; don’t I have to write something else before doing those again?”

    I haven’t seen the newer Dr. Who series, but my dad was a huge fan, so I grew up watching the older ones, all the way back to the black and white ones!

Leave a Reply

