7 Quick Takes – College Edition.

4 Mar

That time has arrived. What time, you ask?

Grad school application time.

Well, not quite yet, for most schools. But it is definitely – DEFINITELY – time to start narrowing down my list. Most of you know that I’m in a small, private, evangelical university for undergrad. I really don’t want to go the private school routeย unless it’s a theologically sound Catholic school. Otherwise I just want to go to a state university. SO, ladies and gentlemen, I’m depending on you wiser, braver, stronger, more knowledgeable Catholics and non-Catholics alike to share your thoughts and opinions for Catholic or state schools that have a Masters of Social Work program (MSW). Unfortunately, it does have to have an MSW, counseling and psych won’t qualify me for licensing. In no particular order…

1) Barry University, Miami Shores, Florida.

2) St. Ambrose University, Davenport, Iowa.

3) Dominican University, River Forest, Illinois

4) University of St. Thomas, St. Paul, Minnesota

5) Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio, Texas.

6) I’m planning (knock on wood) on earning my MA Political Science from University of Dallas. Which means I should probably consider one of the state school options in Texas for my MSW, since the social work side is such a short program thanks to my advanced standing status (ORU is good for something!).

7) Any additions I need to consider? Things I need to take away? Sound off, please! I need your help!

Visit Jen at ConversionDiary.com for more Quick Takes!

15 Responses to “7 Quick Takes – College Edition.”

  1. JenZ March 4, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I don’t know about your specific program, but regarding theologically sound Catholic universities … I don’t remember which magazine (maybe Faith & Family) but I do remember seeing a yearly article on good, solidly Catholic colleges that talks about how the universities rank in different areas, such as whether they require their professors to have a mandatum, which I think basically says that they agree to the teachings of the Church and won’t teach against them. The list of universities that require that is pretty short.

    I was just reading a blog post about UD and possible problems that are pulling them away from being a basically orthodox Catholic school to something other than that. I don’t have any first-hand knowledge but it’s something to look into, I think.

    Praying for your school search ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. notaminx.blogspot.com March 4, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I don’t think I can help – I don’t know anything about the schools you’ve listed! Our Lady of the Lake is a cool name, though.

  3. Julie @ The Corner With A View March 4, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    The big thing is to ask a lot of questions. It’s not just you applying and them accepting you, it’s you choosing them. Talk to professors, talk to current students and get the dirt. For realz. Otherwise, good luck! What a fun process!

  4. Kathleen March 4, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    I know nothing, so I can’t help, only sympathize. I remember auditioning for grad schools, and it was an exciting, but terrifying and overwhelming, time. Good luck to you! Keep us informed.

  5. Kerri B. March 4, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    I don’t know much about the program, but a suggestion from the public university side might be the University of South Carolina. I did my undergrad and one master’s degree there. I remember the Master’s in Social Work was a year long program that was on a different calendar than the rest of the university. I think they started earlier in August than everyone else and had a separate graduation (in July maybe?). So you end up doing the whole program with the same people all the way through. Other than that I don’t know much. My youngest sister is also interested in a MSW and she mentioned the Universiy of Tennessee, but I forget why she was interested in that program. She wants to concentrate on animals, so maybe they have something specific there for that. I don’t know. But I agree, you should talk to professors, current students, alumni if possible, and ask lots of questions. Plus talk to your current professors because they will know people about about other programs and they will be the ones that you need to write recommendation letters for you. When I went to get my second master’s degree it was with a lot of help from one of my undergrad professors and his recommendation for a school to look into ended up working out really well for me. Good luck!!

  6. JenZ March 4, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I just thought of something when the previous commenter mentioned public universities … Many people have told me that Texas A&M has a very good Catholic community, so you might want to check it out if they have the program you need. Several very solidly Catholic families in our homeschool group went to school there for their undergraduate work and all are very much practicing their faith now.

  7. ehillgrove March 4, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I will always vote for warm weather. Miami sounds about right to me!

  8. Anon March 4, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    First Things is the magazine that ran a big college/ university issue a while back.

    UD has some great, truly Catholic and academically excellent professors. Also, some fantastic students. Campus Ministry is (or was, 6-10 years ago), largely a joke in terms of spirituality, but very nice people. The school is divided in the sense that you will find some orthodox Catholics, some rather light-weight Catholics, and some non-Catholics. Some people get drunk (routinely) on the weekends, some stay out late smoking, reading Plato, and Discussing Life. You can find what you’re looking for, but it isn’t going to be cookie cutter.

    I, too, have heard that Texas A&M has a hugely popular and ever-growing orthodox Catholic population, in addition to an excellent pro-life group.

    Not sure if University of Nebraska Lincoln has the program you need, but their Newman Center is really outstanding.

  9. khouria jen March 4, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    i’d look at the quality of the newman centers and the catholic communities surrounding the schools in addition to looking for specifically catholic schools. my undergrad was at a very secular school but their iv chapter was amazing.

  10. Lianna March 5, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Good question! I was going to mention St. Thomas and St. Ambrose. Unfortunately, it seems that MSW programs are lacking at Catholic schools, which is sad because Catholic social teaching is such a huge part of the faith. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  11. jaloru95 March 5, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    I vote for MA Political Science from University of Dallas. 1. It’s close to, well, me. And who wouldn’t want to be close to me? And,
    2. You need to hurry up and become something that requires a Chief of Staff so that I can become your Chief of Staff. Mkay? Thanks.

  12. Lianna March 6, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    As for the theological soundness of those Catholic schools. Most of them I’m not sure about. St. Thomas has a lot of Catholic organizations and events to get involved in, as well as an awesome seminary. However, I am not sure about the Catholicity of the MSW program. From what I’ve heard, some departments are more theologically sound than others. I believe it’s the same at St. Ambrose, and I’m not sure of the MSW program.

  13. priest's wife March 6, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    personal question…is your boyfriend able to follow? or are you going to have a long-distance relationship? Something to think about…my 2 cents about the university- unless the university is hard-core really catholic, it is best to go to a big secular school with a great Catholic community- and then sign up to help at church (youth group, choir, crisis pregnancy center, whatever)- that will keep you grounded ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Brent April 7, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    My wife got her BSW from ORU. I would recommend OU or another state school. Barry University is not a good school to go to for orthodoxy. I would recommend St. Leo University (Benedictine) in Fl. Also check any school against Cardinal Newman Society.

  15. Laura April 21, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Hi there, just found your blog and wanted to recommend the University of Michigan’s School of Social Work. I think it’s consistently ranked #1 in the country and several of my friends have completed and liked the program. The student parish at UM is wonderful (http://stmarystudentparish.org/), I’ve been a parishioner there for 20 yrs. It’s on the more progressive end of the Catholic spectrum (it’s Jesuit, has contemporary music) but the congregation is very diverse and welcoming. We have all kinds. ๐Ÿ™‚ And, Ann Arbor has more traditional parishes as well, if that’s a better fit.

    Best wishes as you prepare to enter the Church, and welcome!

Leave a Reply

