7 Quick Takes: Musical edition.

25 Mar

I hate to sound like a broken record. I’m a generally happy person, I promise. But I’m not really ready to talk about what’s going on in my life right now. So, I give you links and randomness.

1) 
Stars: Dead Hearts.
Listening to Stars chronologically is like listening to a musical scrapbook of my young adult life, from junior high to the present. I’ve loved them for forever, and I got to see them live at the Free Press Music Fest this summer. This song is stuck in my head right now.

2) As is this one:

Sufjan Stevens – The Dress Looks Nice On You
I got to see him live in October. Now, all I have to do is see Phoenix and Bright Eyes live and I’ll be complete. Or something like that.

3) Calah, whose praises I’ll sing some more, guest posted at Betty Beguiles this week. Calah and Hallie, together in one place? It made my day. Go read her post, she’s happier.

4) Also, I’m blogging at Austin Catholic New Media this week – and I’m not an emotional train wreck! So, if you want Happy Kassie, please, by all means, click away. 😀 I’m ridiculously excited to get to be a part of what’s going on in my home diocese – the diocese I never knew! 😀 Actually I live in a town that borders the Dallas, Austin, and Tyler dioceses, but the parish I attend when I’m home is in the Austin diocese. Whatever. Austin CNM is doing some fantastic things for new evangelization, and you should check them out. P.S. My post talks about the Donut Man.

5) This really adorable stick-figure music video to Switchfoot’s son 24 makes me laugh and cry. It touches me. But maybe that’s because stick figures are the extent of my visual art talent, outside of photography and dance.

That’s all I have the emotional energy for. I love you, readers of mine, I really, truly do. Here’s to happier posts ahead.

6 Responses to “7 Quick Takes: Musical edition.”

  1. Theresa in Alberta March 25, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    HA!!! You my dear are a HOOT!!! OK is not that bad, just look at what happened to
    http://thepioneerwoman.com/
    Welcome home!

  2. Kathleen March 25, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Hugs, hugs, & prayers. Let us know what we can do to make it easier.

  3. spilisz08 March 25, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    I’m so sorry that things are rough for you right now; I am praying for you.

    Thanks for sharing the songs, I don’t know some of those bands, so I will check them out! I hope you have a relaxing weekend.

  4. priest's wife March 25, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    praying for you- I recommend show tunes and lots of them

  5. Kimberlie March 25, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Love you! praying for you! put it all at the feet of Jesus and let Him pick up your burden. See you tomorrow night and I’ll have lots of hugs for you!

  6. Becky March 25, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I love #5- Switchfoot is my favorite band and that video cracked me up! Sadly that would be the extent of my artwork as well : )

    I’m a rather recent reader and first time commenter – just wanted to say I’m praying for you! So excited for your entrance into the Church so soon! I became an official Catholic back in ’07 and faced lots of persecution along the way – but the Easter vigil was one of the best days of my life : )

    God bless+
    Becky

Leave a Reply

