7 Quick Takes: WTH edition

8 Apr
  1. Welcome
    All my new readers. I’m sorry y’all stumbled upon me in one of the most chaotic times of my life, but I’m glad to have you! If you can stand me at my worst, we should get along smashingly at my best.
  2. HAPPY!!
    My lovely, lovely friend Calah mailed me an awesome package with absolutely AWESOME jewelry she made. Her and her husband are way more gifted in this than I ever would be. You should track her down and offer her your first-born child in exchange for a bangle. Or a spectacular little ear cuff. Or a self-defense ring that won the praise of many.
  3. Pray.
    For my beautiful, loving friend and godmother-to-be Kimberlie. She has sacrificed so much of her time and given so much of herself to make sure that I had all the support I needed to come into the Church. She’s mom to four, and she and my godfather-to-be Paul could always use your prayers.
  4. CHANGE.
    Happened and happened FAST. Since we met last, I have decided to withdraw from Oral Roberts University and transfer to the University of Texas. I held out as long as I could, but a) tuition increased b) financial aid decreased c) my tolerance for insanity maxed out. It just didn’t make financial sense to stay for another semester when I could attend UT for almost-free. And, it actually sets my academic calendar ahead by a semester, but that’s another story entirely. I’m frantically scrambling for housing before Finals, and I have a few good leads, but. . .
  5. This is where my paranoia kicks in.
    My mother and I are very close. When I was in high school we would shoo the rest of the kids in bed, and she’d let me stay up with her and watch forensics shows with her all night. We were both fascinated with forensic science. The downside? I am disgustingly neurotic now. I check the back seat of my car before entering, I have four different routes to and from school, work, and church that I alternate randomly, the two children I nanny are never, NEVER out of my sight, when walking through a parking lot at night by myself, I have my keys clenched in my hand ready to use as weapons. . .I’m not really sure how. I shall scrape thee with my keys?

    Also, I’m applying for my concealed handgun permit, but that’s because there are a few real-life horror stories that happened in my community to girls driving home at night and my family lives on one of the roads that the travesty happened on. According to one person who found about this, this makes me not Catholic. Also a racist bigot. I’m not really sure how? But I digress. Bottom line, I have never lived alone. I also don’t want to end up on an episode of City Confidential because my roommate decided to date Ted Bundy.

  6. So I decided to get over it. . .
    And just look on craigslist.org to see what apartments were available, and what the going rate for roomshares is in the area. The first ad I see?
  7. This gem.
    While I’m glad he’s being honest, and I hope he finds a housing situation that is safe for the community around him, this did nothing – I repeat, NOTHING – to help my irrational fear of internet serial killers.

    Have a safe weekend. Don’t get murdered.

19 Responses to “7 Quick Takes: WTH edition”

  1. Kimberlie April 8, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    Some day ask me about my Law and Order obsession and why I am NEVER allowed to watch those shows again. Love you! Thank you for the mention and the prayers. We do, in fact, need them. What couple with four kids doesn’t?

    Love you again! Praying for you!!!

    PS – I was eying that bangle bracelet the whole time we were visiting last night. Wondered where you got it. Forgot to ask. Now I know. 🙂

  2. convertingheart April 8, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    Oh, you crack me up!

    I have to say, though, that I’m so glad to know that I’m not the only neurotic person. I seriously don’t know if I could handle living in the US again after living in Japan for so long. When we are staying with my dad in SC I absolutely cannot sleep if my husband is not with us. His house is a ranch, and I have constant visions of someone coming through the window (I’ve been living in a 3rd floor apartment over here for years). I spend a lot of time in frantic prayer.

    I love living in a relatively safe country (I am very careful about my kids, because there is an ever increasing number of sickos, unfortunately). Come on over – we can use all the Catholics we can get, and all you’ll have to fear is earthquakes… and tsunamis. ;o)

    • The Secret Vatican Spy April 9, 2011 at 12:21 am #

      Beyond an 8 hour stint in the Tokyo Airport traveling to China, I’ve never been to Japan – but I will say I felt so much safer walking alley ways in Beijing than I’ve EVER felt walking through Tulsa.

  3. Kathleen April 8, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    #7: WHOA.

    As for transferring, good for you! I wondered if you might decide it was too difficult/frustrating to stay at ORU. Good luck! Thinking of you as we approach The Vigil Night!

  4. Karen April 8, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    You forgot one:
    4. d) Alcohol.

    • jen April 8, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      hehehehehehehehe… i thought of that one too.

      my recommendation is hard cider — hornsby’s in particular. i can’t have it anymore so have some on my behalf when the coast is clear for you to do so.

      • The Secret Vatican Spy April 9, 2011 at 12:11 am #

        Karen and Jen: Teeheehee. . .well, you know. . .ahem.

      • Blueberries For Me April 13, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

        Hard cider is a great introduction. But I like woodchucks.

  5. Amy Jane (Untangling Tales) April 8, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Good on you for working on your CC.

    One of my favorite lines in Jane Eyre (yes, I’m the sort of person who has favorite lines from that book) is the least romantic. A woman named Grace Poole says, “Some folks are for leaving all to Providence, but I say providence will not dispense with the means.”

    (Found you via Conversion Diary’s 7QT)

  6. priest's wife April 8, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    yay on the transfer!!!! and I don’t think the things you are doing are bad…it is always good to be prepared and such- I would suggest self-defense classes instead of the gun- but that’s just me 🙂

    • jen April 8, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      i echo that sentiment on the self-defense classes.

      • The Secret Vatican Spy April 9, 2011 at 12:18 am #

        Thanks for the suggestions, Jen and Priest’s Wife! I value the wisdom both of you posses very much.

        I’ve taken self-defense classes, and am planning on continuing my training. Of course I will always hope that these preparations are grossly unnecessary. Unfortunately, in the case of the one of the girls from home, self-defense wasn’t enough when she was run off of the dark country road by a van full of men. Those were very sad – and scary – times for my community.

  7. Liesl Baumann April 11, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    The post from Craig’s List has disappeared! I was so looking forward to reading it…

  8. Maggie April 17, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Hallie sent me. I will totally be back. Praying for you this week!

  9. Cam April 18, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    Prayers for you this week!

    I just had to leave a quick note to say that you have a great blog!

    And I definitely don’t think that there’s anything wrong (or “un-Catholic”) with you wanting to be able to defend yourself (both by learning self defense or by carrying a concealed weapon). As you pointed out, self defense alone can only do so much. If a person is outnumbered or the other person has a weapon, training might help, but might now. I’m a black belt and have taught self defense and karate, but I know that I’d still have a tough time if a guy my husband’s size tried to grab me.

    We live in an area where drug cartels are very active and have talked about getting permits… so far we haven’t… and since we’re moving soon I think we won’t at this point.

    Sorry for the long comment! Again, you’re blog is great!

  10. jaloru95 April 18, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Thanks for mentioning the fact that your brother turned 16. I feel loved.

Leave a Reply

