The Countdown

19 Apr

Thank you to everyone who has been keeping me in their thoughts and prayers, and especially to Calah, Hallie, and Kimberlie. Growing pains are never fun, but who wants to stay a baby forever? It’s, you know, technically my Catholic rumspringa so. . .if anyone’s been aching to commit a mortal sin with me, you have ’til Saturday. (kidding, kidding).

I’m in a strange limbo right now, juxtaposed between excitement, and nervousness, and numbness. It’s quite frankly difficult for me to believe that it’s really happening. I’m not really a cry-er, but it makes me cry thinking about how the blogging community has rallied around me and my fellow converts. Please, please, please believe me when I say that I am so very, very grateful. I don’t think there’s any better contemporary example of the communion of the saints than what you have all done for me. It humbles me – and I deal with pride a lot, so, humbling me’s never a bad thing – and at the risk of waxing cliche, never before have I felt so much love from a church community. And I come from a southern church – there was plenty of love to go around, no matter the theological pitfalls.

I’m going to be quiet for the rest of this week.

Pensive.

You might hear from me Friday.

But I’m waiting.

Thank you.

19 Responses to “The Countdown”

  1. Ciska April 19, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    “I’m in a strange limbo right now, juxtaposed between excitement, and nervousness, and numbness. It’s quite frankly difficult for me to believe that it’s really happening.”
    So recognizable, exactly how I feel too. Many people told me to spend a lot of time in adoration and in mass this week, so I’m passing this advice onto you. Wishing you a very holy week.

  2. Brent April 19, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    You are in my family’s prayers! I like to liken the feelings you are having to the difference between practice and playing in a real game. The “pep rally” has been fun, but now you are invited to really commune with the King of the Universe (Eucharist). God loves your nervousness. You are like the bride being prepared for Solomon. It’s okay to be nervous, numb, and everything in between.

    Peace to you on your journey,

    Brent

  3. Kathleen April 19, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    I’ll be wrapping you both up in prayers this week. Hugs! Can’t wait to hear about it!

  4. convertingheart April 19, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    I’ve been thinking about you a lot these past few days. I’ll be praying for you. It’s been five months since I entered the Church, and I still can’t believe it sometimes. Every Mass I am in awe that I am receiving the Lord of the Universe!

    I pray that your day will be truly blessed. Can’t wait to read about it as you feel able to share!

  5. Hallie April 19, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    I love you, sweet girl. And I’m so, so proud of you. xoxoxo

  6. RebeccaF. April 19, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    Praying for you…

  7. spilisz08 April 19, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    Praying so hard for you Kassie! I am starting the St. Gianna novena today (She’s my baby’s patron saint), and you are on my list of people that I’m offering it for. Growing pains are so hard, but our God is so good and loving, there’s always joy with the pain!

    Lots of love!

  8. Calah April 19, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Oh, Kassie, I love you! I can’t wait until Sunday. You are so amazing!

  9. priest's wife April 19, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I’m keeping you in my prayers…

  10. Christina April 19, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I found your story on a blog (very specific, aren’t I?) and just know that I am praying for you this week. I cry every time the RCIA folks come in for anything, so you’re not crying alone this week. Blessings and welcome!

  11. Kimberlie April 20, 2011 at 5:47 am #

    We are praying for you! You have so much going on right now and not just your coming into the Church. It’s a lot for anyone. Let those of us who love you lift you up right now. Rest in His love.

    “Be still and know that I am God.” Just be still for the rest of the week, or as still as you can. This week leading up to Easter Vigil is so beautiful as we remember the steps our Lord took to the Cross. But unlike the disciples, we know the ending. And it’s great. Easter is coming!

    Love you lots!!!

  12. Melissa Spence April 20, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    My hubby went through RCIA right before we got engaged. It was an awesome thing seeing him come into the Church at Easter vigil. Will be praying for you!

  13. K.L.B. April 20, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    An interesting note for your edification: Before I completed RCIA, I was informed by the deacon that there was an “impediment” to my full initiation, and thus was on the cusp of – though not in – “full” communion with the Church. As life happened, I attended several parishes. Throughout my journey afterward, I placed myself in obedience to his authority, and though I went forward to receive, I always knelt, bowed and crossed my arms, asking only for a blessing – which was always granted. When I later joined another parish out of state, I immediately met with the pastor and explained my case. He disagreed with the previous deacon’s finding, and I was subsequently orally examined by the Director of Religious Education and found to be a superiorly prepared catechumen. Later, the Bishop also found for me, and I was subsequently set for full reception. Throughout it all, I could have received Eucharist, and no one – save God and me – would have known. But, I had purposed to be obedient, and was. There is blessing in that. There were also others praying for me, and I sensed it very much. Now, I am in full communion with the Holy Roman Catholic Church, thanks be to God! From the first time I have received Eucharist to this moment – and every moment thereafter, God willing – I have, and shall continue to receive the Host on my knees, for I am in the presence of the King of Kings, and Holy is His name. Be blessed! And WELCOME home!!

  14. Margaret in Minnesota April 21, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    Little did you know that I’ve been praying for you for weeks now. I’m upping the ante as we approach Easter, and thought that I would come out of the Lenten shadows to tell you.

    God is so good! Just you wait, Kassie. It keeps getting better & better & BETTER.

  15. Sherry April 21, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Found your blog through Creative Minority Report link. Will pray for you and those supporting you in this Holy Holy week.

  16. jen April 21, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    Yaya!!!!!

  17. Laura April 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Let us know how it went!!! I’ve felt a very strong call to keep you in my prayers (like when my home flooded at 1:00 am), so know that someone in heaven is very interested in your acceptance to the Church

  18. Marc Cardaronella April 21, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    Awesome Kassie! I’ll be thinking of you this week as I usher in my own little flock of spiritual children. That’s so cool to hear how you’ve been given so much support and love by the local and virtual community. That’s the way it’s supposed to work!

  19. David April 22, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Welcome! The Easter Vigil is just as important to us cradle Catholics as it is for you. The new blood and new energy that you bring refreshes us all. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

