7 Quick Takes – So You Think You Can Dance edition.

12 Aug

1.
It’s FRIDAY, it’s FRIDAY! My two darling charges were whisked away to their grandparents for the weekend, so I had the day off. Sleeping in, morning runs…and lunch with my lovely godmother Kimberlie!

HAPPY DANCES!

2. 
And speaking of happy dances. . .

Did you watch the finale of So You Think You Can Dance?

I have a confession. I am a dance snob. I was classically trained in the Cecchetti method of ballet, then trained in the Limon Modern technique in college. I never got really into So You Think You Can Dance because – face it. Bunheads are kind of anti-dance competitions. (That and I have to fight extreme amounts of envy over Cat Deely’s legs)

BUT THIS SEASON.

Oh, friends.

This season.

It broke my heart. And inspired a few things I can’t discuss on my blog jusssssst yet.

So this week, I present you with some of my favorite pieces from this season!

**Warning: This is dance. This is competition dance. Clothing is a little scant because seeing the form of the human body is kind of a necessity in dance. Just a heads up.

3.
Made a Fool.

Choreographed by my husband, Tyce Diorio. Yes. Husband. I had an ORU God-Told-Me-To-Marry-You moment watching this.

4. 
Skin and Bones.

The chemistry between Melanie and Marko tore.me.apart.

5.
This choreographer, Tessandra Chavez, BLEW ME AWAY. Where did she COME from??

6.
This piece danced by Caitlynn and Marko was about a woman in an oppressive relationship.

7.
I WANT THEIR DRESSES.

Visit ConversionDiary.com for more quick takes!

4 Responses to “7 Quick Takes – So You Think You Can Dance edition.”

  1. Kathleen August 12, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    #3–haven’t watched anything like that in years. Amazing how much of a story simple body movement can evoke.

    It’s amazing, too, the sheer strength they have to have to control the torso moving in such slow, graceful movements at such unnatural angles. I wince, thinking how I would collapse if I tried.

    • The Secret Vatican Spy August 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      The song and the choreography and the dancers. . .the whole package for #3 just leaves me heartbroken. Gah, I love art.

      All of Tyce Diorio’s choreography is breathtaking like that, though. He is truly gifted.

  2. Michelle August 12, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Gah. This kills me…my studio closed in June, and now I’m going to Mexico for a semester so I won’t be dancing again until at least January.

    Envyyyyyyy…haha 🙂

  3. Maria Novajosky August 12, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I haven’t watched the show, so thank you for these highlights.

    And I can barely handle the hokey-pokey …

Leave a Reply

