Passive Aggressive Post: The PK edition

21 Aug

There are two ways to really send me flying past normal-everyday-irritation into the realm of livid, molten-lava rage.

1) Hurt my family.

2) Disparage Texas.

(Okay, so I’m kidding about 2. But 1? Please.)

As a pastor’s kid, #1 has presented some serious, serious issues. I realize many of my Catholic readers that don’t worship with one of the Eastern rites might not understand this, but being a kid in a ministry family is really, really hard. There are good times and there are bad times, but there are always hard times. Without going into any gory details, the last few months have presented a series of. . .erm, strategic growth opportunities for my family. Watching from hundreds of miles away and honestly not being able to do anything concrete to help has been one of the hardest things in my life. Just this morning, I called mom while I was running some errands after Mass, and sat in my car in complete and utter disbelief, with my protective-older-sister mode turned to overdrive. I would have picked up the phone and called the person in question, but out of respect for my parents and how they’re handling the situation I refrained. But since they read my blog anyway. . . [TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: YES I’M LOOKING AT YOU.]

ARE PEOPLE THAT STUPID?

ARE THERE REALLY ADULTS IN THIS DAY AND AGE WHO DON’T UNDERSTAND HOW TO BEHAVE LIKE. . .YOU KNOW. . .ADULTS? (yes, it took a little while for it to sink in that there, are in fact, overgrown 13-year-olds prancing around in the guise of Super Holy Spiritual Leaders)

I know most of you are western-rite Catholics with celibate priests. But just in case you ever find yourself caught in a church drama wherein the “offending” (and I use this term with embarrassing lightness) Priest/Pastor has a family and children, I offer you this handy dandy bit of advice to behaving like a civilized human being

Leave the children out of it.
Whatever perceived bone you have to pick with the minister in question, it ISN’T THE KIDS FAULT. Don’t you dare humiliate them, shun them, talk about them behind their and their parents back, ignore them, betray their confidence, etc. Seriously. God help you.

I don’t care if you think their parents are the worst thing that’s happened to public ministry since Jimmy Jones (or the Pope, if you’re from my home church). Dragging the kids through the dirt in an attempt to make yourself look like God’s gift to Christian subculture is the lowest, dirtiest, most inexcusable bit of bullsh*t I can think of. Particularly when the kids are, you know, LITTLE. That bit about better a millstone be tied around your neck and you be cast into the sea than that you cause one of these little ones to stumble? Yeah, that wasn’t thrown in there because there weren’t enough violent metaphors in the Bible.

I had five more paragraphs written but it had devolved into DFKGJNERDTGLKJAQKJGHNE RTO5IYHP;A OJK YNWSAZZZZZZZ and that’s not me typing in tongues. So I’m just. . .going to leave now, and do something like, go to adoration instead of driving to Texas and kicking ignorant ass.

6 Responses to “Passive Aggressive Post: The PK edition”

  1. jen August 21, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    while we’re at it, leave the 7 months pregnant wife out of it as well. if she goes severely pre-eclamptic a month later, her blood will be on your hands because you contributed stress to her situation.

    (not that it happened to me…)

  2. K.L.B. August 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Kindess is missing somewhere. And I’m not talking to you, but perhaps to me. Yes, I sin. You reminded me of something I need to do more of… Eucharistic adoration. Thanks for writing.

  3. Julie @ The Corner With A View August 22, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    I definitely know none of this directly affecting PKs, but I know it well in general. Adults need to leave children out of their disagreements in general. Thanks for a great post, Kassie! Blessings on your family.

  4. Becky August 22, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Prayers for your family, whatever the issue is! I know a few PKs and have heard it’s pretty tough at times – hang in there hun! …And #2 on your list is awesome – go Texas : )

  5. Whitney Rutherford (@furrylise) August 24, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I never comment on your posts, but I just have to say this. Especially after reading this post…

    I. LOVE. YOU.

    Yours truly,
    Your favorite sister. 🙂

  6. Logan Rutherford (@jaloru95) August 25, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I would just like to point out that “DFKGJNERDTGLKJAQKJGHNE RTO5IYHP;A OJK YNWSAZZZZZZZ” has the word “NERD” in it.

    Okay, that is all.

Leave a Reply

