TARDIS = Popemobile: how the papacy is kind of like Doctor Who.

21 Sep

(This post is dedicated to Calah – I finally got to it, I did!)

(P.S. vote for Calah [Barefoot and Pregnant] at the Crescat Cannonball Awards)

Those of you who know me, primarily in real life or on twitter, know that I am unduly obsessed with Doctor Who. Like, completely obsessed. Like, I picked out TARDIS blue bridesmaid dresses forever ago and I’m not even remotely a “My dream wedding was planned at the age of 5!” kind of gal. At one point my car was making the Tardis noise and I was loath to take it into the shop because for a split second after turning it off I could close my eyes and pretend I was making sweet love to time traveling with the Doctor. Sometimes the only thing that keeps me from running away (in my red converse) and joining a convent after particularly awful days at work is the knowledge that I have to bear one son I can name Christopher Tennant Smith.

I could go on, but you get the point.

Me + Tardis + the Doctor (- every other companion and River effing Song) = <3.

I found Doctor Who after season 1 of the BBC’s Robin Hood (child 2 is Jonas Armstrong Sexy McSexy Pants II, in case you’re curious)
 Meet Mr. Vatican Spy. Who should definitely be post-Matt Smith which would make it NOT cheating on The Doctor.

There. . .was a point to this blog, but now I’m just thinking about Jonas Armstrong in the Tardis.

Okay.

I’m back.

As I was saying.

I couldn’t have converted without Doctor Who. Okay, so that’s a little facetious. BUT JUST A LITTLE. Doctor Who was the main reason I had absolutely -zero- problem with the concept of the Papacy.

Why, asketh thou unenlightened readers who have never watched the show?

Regeneration!

I was all, “What the crap, I have to be Catholic! They have Time Lord Leaders!”

The Doctor is one Time Lord, who has the ability to regenerate an (albeit limited) number of times. Meaning, he takes on another form but he remains the same person (humanoid, for the picky sci-fi people out there).

So, when Peter died, his physical form may have passed away, but his anointing and office was regenerated into. . .whoever the next Pope was, and when THAT Pope died he regenerated the same office on to the next Pope, and so on. Which means, B16 is pretty much the Doctor. Different people, different personalities, but the same office.

Make sense?

No?

Sigh.

All I’m saying is, if you -really- want to have an awesome Catachesis class, watch the Eccleston-Tennant regeneration story arch and then explain the Papal seat.

. . .

I’ve lost you all, haven’t I.

I DON’T CARE.

I’M GOING TO WATCH THE SHAKESPEARE EPISODE NOW MWAHAHAHAHA.

11 Responses to “TARDIS = Popemobile: how the papacy is kind of like Doctor Who.”

  1. Joe (Defend Us In Battle) September 21, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    since this is just between you and me I will let you in on a secret:

    I watched Dr. Who the first time this spring and got through all the way up to Amelia Pond in about 4 weeks.

    The real crazy fact: it makes me cry, literal tears. I dont know why, there is something magical about the show. Something about the …I dont know… ok I was going to say more, but I feel weird now.

    I should stop writing.

  2. Calah Michelle Alexander September 21, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Oh. My. Gosh. This is the best post ever written. I’m not kidding. Nothing has ever explained the office of the papacy more clearly to me. Additionally, WE HAVE A TIME LORD LEADER!!!!!!!!!!!!! I frigging love this Church.

    I am so going to write Stephen Moffat and insist that you be the next companion. It’s about time he had an American companion (and yet again, Jack doesn’t count). But I must say that Jonas Armstrong is way too young to play the Doctor. Matt Smith pulls it off only because he is the most bizarre-looking human being ever to have walked the earth, but if he weren’t actually the Doctor pretending to be a human actor, he would be written off as way too young as well.

    Last word: I love River Song. I know this makes me an oddity in the Whoniverse, but I just do. She’s just so brazen. I love it.

    I am now off to write the Vatican and officially request that they paint the Popemobile Tardis blue in the interest of awesomeness.

  3. Julie @ The Corner With A View September 21, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    THIS IS SO BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love Doctor Who, I love you, and I love this post. Great job, Kassie!!

  4. Eva M (@HumblebeeHome) September 21, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Hello, fellow Wholigan!

    I’m completely with you. I tend to see A LOT of Christian undertones in the show. Particularly during the 10th doctor. I mean, someone who is willing to give up everything, even his life, for his friends (and sometimes his enemies)? Who does THAT resemble? The Doctor’s love and respect for human (and non-human, actually) life makes me cry all the time.

    It would rock if the popemobile was done up to look like the TARDIS. Start a petition; I will sign it!

  5. Tienne McKenzie September 21, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Oooh! OOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHH!!!! The awesomeness of this post cannot be contained within this comment box so I will just have to be satisfied with CAPSLOCK REACTIONS.

    Also, now you have me wanting to write in to the BBC and request that Jonas Armstrong be the next Doctor.

  6. Thirsty Gargoyle (@thirstygargoyle) September 21, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    For what it’s worth, and while we’re on topic, I have a priest friend who says that when he was small he saw the College of Cardinals on telly, and confused them with Gallifreyans. He became a priest because he wanted to be a Timelord. True story. He says.

  7. jaloru95 September 22, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Favorite Doctor Who memory has to be when I scared you (Kassie) soo badly after we had just got through watching “Blink”. I still laugh about it.

    I also enjoy discussing DW with Calah on Twitter.

    • The Secret Vatican Spy September 24, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      I just told someone about that a few days ago.

      Also when we watched the Are You My Mummy? episode and the electric fence was blinking in the back yard except I didn’t know we had an electric fence…yeah. That was funny.

      • jaloru95 September 25, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

        Oh, yes. How could I forget about that? We still ask eachother that to this day.

  8. Radiant Cobb November 22, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    It works both ways, too!

    You say, “What the crap, I have to be Catholic! They have Time Lord Leaders!”

    Which makes me say, “What the crap, I have to start watching Doctor Who!”

Leave a Reply

