Friends and Family

23 Oct

I feel like I should rename this blog, “Kassie’s Desperate Pleas For Prayer From Cyber Catholic Friends”.

It isn’t as pithy, so I won’t.

But we lost my great-grandmother this week somewhat unexpectedly, and I’m back in Texas for the funeral. Anytime you get a family as large as my extended family in one place, there is going to be some chaos. My Mimi was one of the most loving, fiercely loyal, beautifully strong women it has ever been my pleasure to come across, and she will be dearly, dearly missed.

The weekend hasn’t been all sad, however – I stopped in Dallas yesterday on my way home and spent the night with Calah and her wonderful family. There was wine, and Doctor Who, and babies, and a whole menu full of Pioneer Woman recipes. I even got to indoctrinate the budding ballerina Sienna with Giselle video clips on youtube. It makes me tear up a little bit to think about how God brings people into our lives in the most bizarre, unsuspected ways at exactly the right time.

Also not sad: my godmother is blogging again! I was so excited to check my email and have a digest from her lovely blog My Thoughts Along The Way. Go give her some love and beg her not to leave us again.

 

4 Responses to “Friends and Family”

  1. Warm Southern Breeze October 23, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    Never knew either one of my grandfathers, much less my great grandparents. You’re fortunate.

  2. jen October 23, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    my condolences on the death of your great-grandmother. she sounds like she was a spitfire. such women have taught me much about living.

    i’m also glad you got to meet calah. i find my online friends are the ones who keep me the sanest.

  3. Kimberlie October 23, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Kassie, you have been in my thoughts and prayers this weekend! I have found that attending family funerals are always filled with mixed emotions. On the one hand, we are sad to say good-bye to our loved one and to turn the page to a new chapter in our lives. On the other, we get to be with our loved ones we may not have seen since the last funeral, and more importantly we get to share all the stories of love that have passed between ourselves and the person the funeral is full.

    Yes, I am blogging again. I miss my peeps. 🙂 It was good to take a break and get some perspective though.

  4. priestswife October 24, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    praying for you- and glad you got to be with friends

Leave a Reply

