First signs of insanity?

25 Oct

Sometimes I have conversations with myself.

Okay, all the time I have conversations with myself.

Sometimes these conversations are audible.

“Kassie,” says I, “That decision, love, was patently stupid. No. That decision was nigh unto irresponsibly immature and thou must needs return thine Grown Up card to the powers that be, post-haste.” My subconscious has lexicon related identity issues.

Typically these conversations transpire after events which usually involve me saying exactly what I’m thinking to whom I’m thinking about. Or, with a frequency even more alarming, at times when I convince myself that staying up/sleeping in just a few more minutes won’t matter to anyone except my hair. But this time, dear readers.

This time.

This time that conversation was preemptive, as I made the official decision to dive into Nanowrimo yet-a-frickin-gain. And I’m recording that conversation here, so that three weeks from now when I’m griping and moaning and complaining and tearfully chugging copious amounts of. . . . . coffee. . . . ., my subconscious can snap me out of it with: “Get over it, you whining moron. You knew this was a completely insane time to try and churn out 50,000 more words, so suck it up and write, damn it.”

In a rare moment of realism I had the good sense to agree to modify the challenge to “Write 50,000 words in whatever medium you can”, which is far less impressive than being able to shrug and off-handedly comment about the status of my latest novel. But it’s already been established that me and chic don’t exactly get along.

I have too much hair for that.

But here’s to you, fellow nanowrimoers. Enjoy your last few days of sanity before. . .you know, The End.

6 Responses to “First signs of insanity?”

  1. Leah @ Unequally Yoked October 25, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    I’m nanowrimoing for the first time this year and I’m excited/terrified. I hope some of those 50k will be diverted for this blog, but I’d love to hear what your novel plot is.

  2. K.L.B. October 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Perhaps you may be interested in the Phone-a-Blog entry feature (or whatever it’s called) which is incorporated into WordPress, by default – though it must be activated. Simply call it in!

  3. jen October 25, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    i’m partaking in the insanity as well. 🙂

  4. Maggie November 1, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Dude, if I wasn’t saddled with a new baby and all the spit up laundry I would so be partaking of the insanity as well. I’ve only done it once, but it was awesome. I’ll cheer you from the sidelines!

  5. priestswife November 24, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    are you in the midst of Nutcracker insanity? We miss your posts and tweets!

    happy Advent

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Quick Takes Vol 28 Kassie Edition | My Thoughts Along The Way - December 25, 2011

    […] is an incredibly witty woman.  She makes me laugh on a regular basis.  Check out this post of hers. Search her blog and you will find many examples of her sometimes even scandalous […]

Leave a Reply

