Save Me, San Francisco.

18 Apr

Erm.

Hello.

Do you hear that sound?

That’s the sound of me begging your forgiveness.

When I last left you, I was moving back to Texas. Well…I moved!

….to California.

…which was equal parts the worst decision I’ve ever made (think, reasons I can’t even legally talk about on my blog) and one of the better decisions I’ve ever made (think, northern California is one of the most gorgeous places I’ve ever seen in the world).

I’ve been tormented and have wanted to flee back to you, dear readers, for weeks. The catalyst came this afternoon while I’m walking the streets of San Francisco (because oh yeah, I’m basically homeless and living out of a carryon suitcase and price lined hotel rooms) slipped into a coffee shop and sat on the patio enjoying the sunshine. I overheard the following statement from a guy hanging out with some friends.
They were clearly hipster theology majors.
The unwashed hair, tattered copy of “A History of Christianity” and stench of old marijuana gave them away.
(I still love y’all, theology majors.)
“I can’t wait until the very first married priest says ‘F*** you’ to the Vatican in his homily.”
The friends solemnly nodded their agreement. And I just couldn’t take it anymore. “Considering the Eastern rites have had married priests for centuries and the Roman rite didn’t disallow married priests until the middle ages, that ship has sailed. Not to mention the married Protestant pastors that convert to Catholicism and can receive dispensations to become ordained.” I know there are more nuances to it than that, but really, the amount of Catholic hating that occurs on the West Coast is even more intense than the Midwest, and I’m feeling particularly volatile right now.
The budding Hauerwas glared at me and countered, “Who the f*** do you think you are? A secret Vatican spy?
Well.
Since you mention it.
This post is for you, sir.
Please wash your hair.

I really wish I could tell you everything that has happened, but I can’t. Maybe I can have coffee with each and every one of you some day and then we can swap stories. Or we can meet over a few beers and swap even better stories!

In the meantime:

I remain yours. Faithful in spirit if not in deed.

Which, ironically, has been the sentiment held by more than one ex. Whatev.

-Kassie

8 Responses to “Save Me, San Francisco.”

  1. Warm Southern Breeze April 18, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Oh, my dear Kassie! Having “been there, and done that,” I totally understand what you mean, and wholly empathize with you. Further, I concur wholeheartedly with your sentiments. As much as you can, enjoy your time there. Enjoy the food and the scenery. Peace be with you.

  2. priest's wife (@byzcathwife) April 18, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    haha SVSpy- good comeback! The Left coast has its crazies- but there’s a lot of good- you just have to look around.

  3. Legit April 18, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Good to read a post. I wondered what happened to you. Peace. I’ll pray for you.

  4. nati April 18, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    Kassie! Nice to see you back on your blog. And I love that guy’s response–so appropriate. Take care, I’ll let you know if I’m in San Francisco again sometime soon (and take you out for coffee or beer).

  5. Peter April 19, 2012 at 4:54 am #

    Happy birthday to me! Literally. Also, welcome
    Back to the land of the living.

  6. Michelle April 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    I live in California too! Welcome!

    And yes, there’s a lot of weird anti-Catholic-from-within-Catholicism things that go on here, but during Holy Week this year I discovered a true diamond in the rough – the priests of Miles Christi, and the Spiritual Exercises retreats which they preach. They are the most spot-on, ultra-holy, yet heart-wrenchingly charitable men I have ever met.

    You’re probably not looking for a retreat right now, but their website is http://www.mileschristi.org if you want to tuck it away for a rainy day 🙂

    Also the oblates of St. Joseph are great, and they actually have a seminary near Sacramento so they might be a little closer to you than Miles Christi.

  7. Cléo May 9, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    My journey to Catholicism began in the summer of 2010 – on honeymoon – in California! A very early mass in the Old Santa Barbara Mission church (with father Daniël) blew me away.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Save Me, San Francisco. | The Expanded Kingdom | Scoop.it - April 18, 2012

    […] background-position: 50% 0px ; background-color:#222222; background-repeat : no-repeat; } secretvaticanspy.wordpress.com – Today, 3:41 […]

Leave a Reply

